Sunflower Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Light, buttery, crispy, crackly, chewy, pretty and delicious all describe this cookie. I used chocolate covered, candy coated sunflower seeds and the optional coconut which made these especially pretty and different. I also added 1/2 teaspoon of salt to heighten flavor. I refrigerated my dough about an hour, used a small cookie scoop not bothering to flatten them at all, and found they spread just the right amount - not too flat, not too poofy. Nice balance of flavors between the oatmeal, sunflower seeds and coconut. I would have to call this a nearly perfect cookie. I dare you to eat just one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Yum yum yum! I followed the recipe with the exception of the coconut - I cut it in half and added chocolate chips. Awesome. I will make it next time according to the recipe as I think it will be wonderful, I was just serving them to people who like chocolate. These are great - thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinyscout

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I actually made this recipe from a clipping I cut out of a magazine. I just happened to be searching for other recipes and saw that you posted the recipe I just made. These are actually really good. Thanks for posting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
these cookies are awesome, I used whole wheat flour and they were really yummy and good for us all to. I don't think they are going to last long at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lana

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I made these exactly as the recipe describes, they were good. I love coconut and I like sunflower seeds, but I think I would like them better as coconut-raisin oatmeal cookies. I'm going to take them in to work tomorrow for additional opinions. I would make them again though. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Awesome recipe! The sunflower seeds are a delicious and healthy change! I didn't have enough white sugar so I added 1/3 cup of white sugar and 2/3 cup of Splenda with no issues. Also, I flattened a few before they went into the oven and put about 1/2 tsp of jam on them and baked for the recommended time. Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
although these cookies had a nice buttery taste, i only gave them 2 stars because they turned out more like a praline cookies then an oatmeal cookie. i will go back to my tried and true oatmeal cookies recipe and add the sunflower seeds to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pennycandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I make this recipe for my elderly parents and mail it to them. The cookies pack and mail well, are crispy and buttery but not too sweet, and a great hit with all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Interesting flavor combination, although I omitted the coconut...I'll make these again, but they're so different, I can't see myself doing them on a regular basis...A fascinating experience!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin'withGas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
I used chocolate covered sunflower seeds (Trader Joe's). I also added natural peanut butter and chopped apples. They were fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States