Sunflower Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
excellent! I used salted roasted sunflower seeds and they add such a delicious and different crunch. The second batch I made I added m&ms. I can see all sorts of yummy additions...all very good. Easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jml

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA
Living In: Morro Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Great tasting cookie! Love the soft, chewy texture that the higher ratio of brown sugar gives them. My husband does not like coconut and absolutely loved these. I'm sure the texture was masked by the rolled oats! ;-) Added dried cranberries to these for a cookie exchange and they were well received. I would like to try adding flax seed to them the next time I make them. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARTHACROCKER13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
The perfect cookie. Everyone loved these. They are slightly chewy, a little crispy on the outside and the buttery, nutty flavor is delicious. Followed the recipe, including the optional coconut (I will include it next time again) except used fall colored chocolate covered sunflower seeds. These were gone in one day and hubby and all the kids have asked for them again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
yummy. I added some chocolate chips and my 5 year old daughter insisted on adding some raisins. I thought they were pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
These cookies were very good! I omitted the coconut and added butterscotch chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Missy Anne
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I made these as written except omitted the coconut, and added semi-sweet chocolate chips. The cookie is chewy and buttery. The only thing that I was very disappointed about was the fact that the sunflower seeds just disappeared into the cookie, no crunch or even sunflower seed flavor in my opinion. So I will make the cookie as an Oatmeal Cookie but not bother with sunflower seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Anne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I LOVE these cookies! I omitted the coconut, since I didn't have any. I'm not usually an oatmeal cookie fan, but I had some sunflower seeds that really needed to be used up, and nothing to put them in. The first batch I followed exactly. The second batch, however, I put almond extract instead of vanilla, and chocolate chips to add a little sweetness for the sweet-tooths in the family. Wonderful recipe! I'll be keeping it in my recipe box from now on. :) Thank-you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I like the unique flavor the sunflower seeds lend this traditional oatmeal cookie! Nutty in a way that peanuts, walnuts, pecans, etc cannot provide - I enjoyed the change! I think they would be great with chocolate covered sunflower seeds, as some reviewers suggested. I didn't realize I ran out of coconut, which I'm sure would be tasty too! --A great oatmeal cookie recipe overall; I enjoyed the chewiness that they have maintained in the container. Give it a shot! (PS: I used roasted unsalted seeds... so I added about 1/2 tsp salt to compensate.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Light, buttery, crispy, crackly, chewy, pretty and delicious all describe this cookie. I used chocolate covered, candy coated sunflower seeds and the optional coconut which made these especially pretty and different. I also added 1/2 teaspoon of salt to heighten flavor. I refrigerated my dough about an hour, used a small cookie scoop not bothering to flatten them at all, and found they spread just the right amount - not too flat, not too poofy. Nice balance of flavors between the oatmeal, sunflower seeds and coconut. I would have to call this a nearly perfect cookie. I dare you to eat just one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Yum yum yum! I followed the recipe with the exception of the coconut - I cut it in half and added chocolate chips. Awesome. I will make it next time according to the recipe as I think it will be wonderful, I was just serving them to people who like chocolate. These are great - thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinyscout

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States