Sunflower Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
This was a great recipe. I one and a half cup of brown sugar (no white sugar), and substituted 1 cup of whole wheat flour for a cup of the all purpose flour. It turned out so soft and chewy in the middle and nice and crisp on the outside. Will definitely make again, this time with no while flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Somerset, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
This is the best oatmeal cookie recipe I have found yet. My family loves it! Also, great for camping as they are really hearty cookies. I also skip the coconut but I add chocolate chips. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
YUM!!! I made this yesterday to give as a gift...my family ate most of them last night, so I am off to the store to buy more ingredients to make another batch!. (I ommitted the coconut, but added a cup of chocolate chips.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
There was a very serious issue with this cookie that you failed to mention in your recipe, Brett... ...they are dangerously addictive!! =) I only changed the recipe slightly: I was about 1/4 c. short on sunflower seeds, chose to omit the coconut, and added a bag of chocolate chips. I also took SEBSRB's advice and made cookie bars in a foil-covered jellyroll pan using(which worked beautifully!). This one is definitely a keeper. A wonderfully versatile cookie that would be great with raisins, dried cranberry, walnuts... the possibilities are endless! The only thing I would do differently next time is make a double batch - my family managed to polish them off in ONE NIGHT. Thanks so much for these... they are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
A great cookie. I did a pan cookie in a jelly roll pan, then cut into squares. I mixed the flour, baking powder, soda, sunflower seeds and oatmeal together before adding to the butter, sugars, eggs and vanilla. A real keeper for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
These are very tasty! They have a nice nutty flavor and add a change from your typical oatmeal or PB cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
These were okay, but it could be b/c I used lowfat butter and Splenda in them. I might try again but I will try it with the real stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johnnabonna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
Yum...I love sunflower seeds and oatmeal cookies and this is a great mixture of both...I went a bit further I added mini chocolate chips and turned them into a bar cookie...it is a great easy way to get a great cookie and takes less time...Baked approx 20 minutes...depends on your oven. Baked the bar cookie on a extra large professional bakers sheet and covered with aluminum foil, inverted when cool..and peeled off the alumimun foil...lots of bars..THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowereyesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
These are great! 4 stars because they are a little on the dry side. I feel like they could use some olive oil, more butter, or something? I added 1 cup raisins & 1 cup very finely chopped sunflower seeds. I used Amish vanilla extract, which gives it a nice rich flavor. My children love these and I don't feel as guilty about the sugar and fat when the "healthy" ingredients far outway the "unhealthy". Sunflower seeds and whole oats are so beneficial to our health, and I think most parents would find it hard to get their child to eat a handful of sunflower seeds alone! Great recipe. Will make again, next time adding some extra virgin olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by midnightbrew79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Savannah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
YuuuuuuuuuMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States