Sunflower Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Light, buttery, crispy, crackly, chewy, pretty and delicious all describe this cookie. I used chocolate covered, candy coated sunflower seeds and the optional coconut which made these especially pretty and different. I also added 1/2 teaspoon of salt to heighten flavor. I refrigerated my dough about an hour, used a small cookie scoop not bothering to flatten them at all, and found they spread just the right amount - not too flat, not too poofy. Nice balance of flavors between the oatmeal, sunflower seeds and coconut. I would have to call this a nearly perfect cookie. I dare you to eat just one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2002
I made these cookies with whole wheat flower and they turned out great! I also left out the coconut. I brought them to work and they were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
Yum...I love sunflower seeds and oatmeal cookies and this is a great mixture of both...I went a bit further I added mini chocolate chips and turned them into a bar cookie...it is a great easy way to get a great cookie and takes less time...Baked approx 20 minutes...depends on your oven. Baked the bar cookie on a extra large professional bakers sheet and covered with aluminum foil, inverted when cool..and peeled off the alumimun foil...lots of bars..THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowereyesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
These are great! 4 stars because they are a little on the dry side. I feel like they could use some olive oil, more butter, or something? I added 1 cup raisins & 1 cup very finely chopped sunflower seeds. I used Amish vanilla extract, which gives it a nice rich flavor. My children love these and I don't feel as guilty about the sugar and fat when the "healthy" ingredients far outway the "unhealthy". Sunflower seeds and whole oats are so beneficial to our health, and I think most parents would find it hard to get their child to eat a handful of sunflower seeds alone! Great recipe. Will make again, next time adding some extra virgin olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by midnightbrew79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Savannah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Many people tried these cookies and everyone thought they were awesome! I used 1 c. whole wheat flour and added a bit of ground flax. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
excellent! I used salted roasted sunflower seeds and they add such a delicious and different crunch. The second batch I made I added m&ms. I can see all sorts of yummy additions...all very good. Easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jml

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA
Living In: Morro Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Wonderful cookie! I did not add coconut...so no comment there. I did not have vanilla so I added almond extract with gave the cookie another layer of nutty flavor! YUM. Then I experimented.... I made some plain (my husband will love) I made some with chocolate chips -- they are good I made some with butterscotch chips - fabulous I made some with raisins - awesome. What a GREAT recipe! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
The perfect cookie. Everyone loved these. They are slightly chewy, a little crispy on the outside and the buttery, nutty flavor is delicious. Followed the recipe, including the optional coconut (I will include it next time again) except used fall colored chocolate covered sunflower seeds. These were gone in one day and hubby and all the kids have asked for them again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
These were okay, but it could be b/c I used lowfat butter and Splenda in them. I might try again but I will try it with the real stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johnnabonna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
I made these cookies to use up a bag of sunflower seeds I had purchased for another recipe. Usually my family dislikes nuts and seeds, but they loved these cookies! Next time I may try adding raisins, as suggested, or some other type of dried fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States