Sundried Tomato Chicken Sausage Ragu with Roasted Eggplant and Tomato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I had to roast the veggies for about 35 minutes to get some color on them. The eggplant really cooked down, so the next time I make this, I will cut a little larger than 1/2" cubes (ragu needs some substance). Also, do yourself a favor and use a 12" skillet. I ended up having to brown the sausage in two batches, and by the time I added the sauce ingredients, the 10" skillet was full (and I slopped sauce all over the stove stirring it). Be sure to use a decent pasta sauce and red wine, as I think this is key to the rich flavor of the sauce. The fresh veggies really shine in this recipe. Served this over penne, the chicken sausage was really tasty, and the sun dried tomato added another layer of flavor to this recipe. Enjoyed this, and I definitely will make it again. All in all, a pretty heart-healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This was amazing! Everyone at our house enjoyed this. The kids asked for seconds and couldn't get enough. The flavors were great and not overpowering. You could add extra veggies if wanted. Would be great served along fried polenta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Photo by MommySmith
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
First off, the sausage is incredible! The food was very nice but the cooking time and portions of ingredients were a little off. Only use half an onion and double the amount of eggplant. Then, roast the vegetables in the oven for 35 minutes as another helpful reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
We added 1/4 box of penne and went with 2 cups of sauce after reading other reviews. Roasted the veggies (baking sheet was FULL) for 35 min and could have gone even longer. Excellent flavor and very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marion Myers
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
This is delicious! I gave it 4 stars only because it lacks some seasoning. It really needs salt. I added salt to the veges. The sauce needs some salt as well. Other than that it was easy to make and the flavors blend nicely. Really like the ease of use with the al Fresco Chicken Sausage. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marion Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Cathy Myers
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
First , I must tell the WORLD that al fresco chicken sausage is the very best chicken sausage I have ever eaten! I am a very rigid cook when it comes to buying quality foods. It must be the best to create an outstanding meal. Second, this recipe was delicous! A few changes just for personal preference. I added kosher salt to the veggies before roasting I also added a few quartered mushrooms to the mix. Used two tbsp of minced garlic, 1/2 cp chopped basil. Thank you, al fresco, for the opportunity to try your product!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Made this last night and it really turned out well! I followed the recipe as described - maybe went a little heavy on the zucchini but can you really have too much zucchini? :) This will definitely be made in the future at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RandyO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurens, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Amazing! I'll admit I wasn't real excited about making this but I had gotten a free sample of a similar style sausage and this recipe came up in my search engine. So I bought all the ingredients and put off making it all week. Let me tell you, this recipe is now bookmarked as one of my new favorites! It. is. delicious. I made it exactly as it says and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
This is one of the best recipes that I have tried on this site! It wasn't hard to follow and it turned out to be delicious. There wasn't a bite that I didn't like. We added a little zucchini and mushrooms to the vegetables because we didn't want them to go to waste in our fridge. We roasted them with the other veggies. We omitted the sun dried tomatoes because we didn't have them on hand. You will love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Great way to use eggplant, tomato and pepper from your garden! Followed the recipe exactly and served with grilled polenta...it was delicious. Took about 10 min to dice everything up and then made the sauce while the veggies were roasting in the oven. We will definitely be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Chicken and Sun-Dried Tomato Bruschetta

Grilled chicken is tossed with spinach, feta, and tomatoes and served on toasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States