Sunday's Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
I really liked this pie recipe! It was simple yet flavorful. The only thing I did differently was to bake the pie at 400 for about 30 minutes to avoid a soggy crust, but will definitely keep this recipe to use for the future. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
This was really good pie! We loved it. I used an assortment of apples: 2 Fujis 2 Granny Smith 2 Golden Delecious I think that's one of the secrests to a really good apple pie, combining really good apples together. I also ended up adding more cinnamon than called for, about 1 tsp as well as 1/2 tsp of nutmeg as I really like a spicy apple pie. I slpashed about 1 tblp of real mexican vanilla over the top of the apples, before I put the top crust on. To top it off, I brushed 2-3 tblsp mented butter on the top crust, and sprinkled it with a few tblsp granulated sugar. This made for a beautifuly golden, and crispy top crust. I served it warm with fresh whipped cream. YUM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Yummy.. this was great. I omitted the butter and instead added 10 caramels, cut in half. I put half the apples in the crust, then half the caramels, then the remaining apples and caramels. Brushed the crust with cream and sprinkled with sugar before baking. Absolutely wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This was by far one of the best apple pies I've ever made!! I used a combination of granny smith and cortland apples. I also drizzled approximately 1 tbsp of real lemon juice over the apple/flour mixture once I put it into the pie shell. This pie had the perfect combination of tart/sweet taste. Warmed up with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top - absolutely heavenly!!! I use frozen pie crust for the bottom of the pie and my own recipe for the top!! I use the recipe off of the can of Crisco. It has always been a foolproof recipe for me. The two tricks to flaky crust (as taught to me by my mom), try to handle the dough as little as possible. Also use ice water. This time around I also tried chilling the shortening - was one of the best crusts I've ever made! Happy Baking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I cut up the amount of apples you had in the recipe and had enough for 2 1/2 pies. I put the extra [with all the seasonings] into a sauce pan, added a litle water and cooked until soft. About 30 seconds in the blender and had the best cinnamon apple sauce ever. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hotmixer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Xenia, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
This pie was very easy, in fact it was the first time I ever made a pie. I had way too many apples, even though I used a deep dish, so I left some out. The only thing is that next time I will add more sugar--its just didn't seem sweet enough. But it was still really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
I used the Pillsbury refrigerated pie crust and the pie came out perfect. It was the best apple pie I've made. I also used the food processor to cut the apples really thin and I think that helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I rated this a tad lower than most of the other reviews because I feel it necessary to alter the recipe to include 1/4 cup of brown sugar and 1 tsp nutmeg. The pie was not sweet enough without the brown sugar, and nutmeg was necessary to compliment the cinnamon. I used this recipe in a 9 inch glass pie dish and baked it at 350 for 55 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belleamoura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linden, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waveland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
This was my 1st ever attempt at making apple pie. It was VERY easy to make and my family LOVED it!! I added a sprinkle of nutmeg to the spice mixture otherwise followed recipe exactly. My hubby and father can't wait for me to make it again!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
My children enjoyed this pie very much. I made this for Thanksgiving. It was my first time making an apple pie from scratch. This recipe made it easy. My pies turned out great. I will use this recipe again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States