Sunday's Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This is a good traditional recipe. For a little extra, I coated the apples with 1 Tbs lemon juice before adding the dry ingredients, and also added 2 Tbs brown sugar and 1/2 tsp. nutmeg. Next time I make this I want to add some cranberries. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I rated this a tad lower than most of the other reviews because I feel it necessary to alter the recipe to include 1/4 cup of brown sugar and 1 tsp nutmeg. The pie was not sweet enough without the brown sugar, and nutmeg was necessary to compliment the cinnamon. I used this recipe in a 9 inch glass pie dish and baked it at 350 for 55 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belleamoura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linden, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waveland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
If you want a basic simple apple pie, this is it! I had a crust at home already and needed a good quick filling...this one did the trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Very good. It wasn't to sweet just the way I like it! It would have been better but I made the crust which was a nice crust but, well, I am a terrible pie crust maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonmeilleurami

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
My husband and I LOVED this pie! This was my first attempt at pie making... I am trying to branch out and start cooking more. I used a 9 inch refrigerated pie pastry and was able to make use of all the apples. The seasonings were just right, not too sweet and not too tart. I added a little nutmeg just for the heck of it. It really turned out great! My husband ate it warm with vanilla ice cream, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahmaire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Absolutely delicious. Only changes I made was to add a touch more cinnamin and then brushed the pastry with milk and sprinkled sugar on top. Hello Fall weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This is a wonderful simple recipe and using another reviewer's suggestion, I used a combination of apples, granny smiths, golden delicious and braeburns. Also used Barefood Contess'a perfect pie crust and the end result was a perfect apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Excellent recipe! I like things to be sweet so I added 1/2 cup of brown sugar and I also added 1/2 tsp of nutmeg. I liked the idea of other posters to brush the top with milk and sprinkle with sugar so I did that too. I'm sure it would have been great without these tweaks, but I altered it a bit to suit my personal tastes. I will never use another apple pie recipe again. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I made this pie today and it was my first time ever making a pie. It came out great! I used 6 med/large Empire apples and substituted cornstarch for flour (since I didn't have any flour). I also did a couple of other things a bit differently. I remember my grandmother showing me how to make apple pie when I was a kid so I used a couple of her techniques. One was that instead of adding the butter pieces to the mixture in the bowl, I mixed everything else, put a layer of the mixture in the crust, added some butter pieces, put another layer, added butter, etc. for 3 layers. I also brushed the top crust with milk before baking. It was delicious! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States