Sunday's Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Following the advice of others who have rated this recipe, I too added 1/4 cup of brown sugar and 1 tsp nutmeg. However, I find that the filling comes out best if you substitute the flour for corn starch and melt the butter in a skillet then heat the rest of the filling mixture until it starts to thicken. It was a fantastic pie with these changes but without the changes the filling has a tendency to come out too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I basically went by the recipe. However, I used more granny smith apples, less sugar, only 1 tsp. cinnamon, used cornstarch instead of flour and only used about 1 tbsp. butter. After coating sliced apples with sugar mixture I let sit for 10 minutes or so while I made the pastry crust. Scope out apples from bowl and press into pie shell, be sure not to get any of the liquid at the bottom of the bowl. ** I don't like an overpowering taste of cinnamon so I used less. Only used a few butter slices on top of apples before placing top crust. Brushed top of crust with a light coat of melted butter then sprinkled sugar, cinnamon & pumpkin pie spice mixture on it. Baked at 400 for 10 minutes then reduced to 325 for another 45 - 50 minutes. The last 10 minutes I placed a foil tent over pie. It turned out beautiful and was so delicious, my kids loved it. I will be keeping this recipe with the changes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This was a great recipe! Simple and tasty. I did tweak a bit myself. I used Braeburn and Gala apples(7 total). I did use 3/4 cup sugar, 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg. Instead of brushing water on top of the crust as in other reviews, I brushed milk on the top crust and sprinkled with sugar(something my great Aunt always did). Also, I baked the pie for one hour as it was not nearly brown enough at a shorter baking time. All in all this is a wonderful, basic recipe that can be adjusted to your tastes if you wish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gregg
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
The first apple pie I ever made was this recipe. My wife loved it. I just bump up the cinnamon and sprinkle cinn/sugar on top of crust before baking. I keep crust covered until the last 15 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gregg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I think this pie was excellent as written, however I like to add more spice than called for in recipes. I added ginger and nutmeg to mine and loved the result! Definitely a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Yummy thats all I can say...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I made this yesterday. The only changes I made were using 3 large apples and it was more than enough filling, and to cut the cinnamon in half (otherwise it's too strong for me). It baked for 45 min and turned out wonderfully! A++ flavor and just the perfect amount of soft apples and spices. We loved it thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This was a DELICIOUS pie with apples picked off the tree in the front yard, but came out rather runny :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndyW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Very good pie if you stick to the recipe! Thought I would take the suggestion of extra cinnamon & nutmeg - DON'T DO IT! "If it ain't broke, don't fix it"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
The names says it BEST, this apple pie is as easy as Sunday morning, the best day of the week!! I have never baked apple pie though I love baking. A bag of apples were just sitting in the fridge on the verge of turning so I figured I best use them in a way my family would best enjoy. They weren't tart so I was a little skeptical that it wouldn't be great but it was amazing!! Please DON'T CHANGE ANYTHING!! keep the same ingredients and do not add anymore, this was so enjoyable to my Fiancee, me and our kids. Better that any store bought pie I could have bring home, thanks Donna!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Peterson

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States