Sunday's Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This was a great recipe! Simple and tasty. I did tweak a bit myself. I used Braeburn and Gala apples(7 total). I did use 3/4 cup sugar, 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg. Instead of brushing water on top of the crust as in other reviews, I brushed milk on the top crust and sprinkled with sugar(something my great Aunt always did). Also, I baked the pie for one hour as it was not nearly brown enough at a shorter baking time. All in all this is a wonderful, basic recipe that can be adjusted to your tastes if you wish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gregg
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
The first apple pie I ever made was this recipe. My wife loved it. I just bump up the cinnamon and sprinkle cinn/sugar on top of crust before baking. I keep crust covered until the last 15 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gregg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I think this pie was excellent as written, however I like to add more spice than called for in recipes. I added ginger and nutmeg to mine and loved the result! Definitely a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Yummy thats all I can say...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I made this yesterday. The only changes I made were using 3 large apples and it was more than enough filling, and to cut the cinnamon in half (otherwise it's too strong for me). It baked for 45 min and turned out wonderfully! A++ flavor and just the perfect amount of soft apples and spices. We loved it thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This was a DELICIOUS pie with apples picked off the tree in the front yard, but came out rather runny :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndyW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Very good pie if you stick to the recipe! Thought I would take the suggestion of extra cinnamon & nutmeg - DON'T DO IT! "If it ain't broke, don't fix it"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
The names says it BEST, this apple pie is as easy as Sunday morning, the best day of the week!! I have never baked apple pie though I love baking. A bag of apples were just sitting in the fridge on the verge of turning so I figured I best use them in a way my family would best enjoy. They weren't tart so I was a little skeptical that it wouldn't be great but it was amazing!! Please DON'T CHANGE ANYTHING!! keep the same ingredients and do not add anymore, this was so enjoyable to my Fiancee, me and our kids. Better that any store bought pie I could have bring home, thanks Donna!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Peterson

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Good, but a little too much cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Good pie but next time I will add less cinnamon,as this was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States