Sunday's Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
This worked fine for me because I wanted a recipe that I felt I could skip peeling the apples (arthritis in the hands). I used Gala apples. Instead of all white sugar, I used half brown sugar. I added a faint sprinkle of ground cloves. I baked it for 30 minutes at 375 and an additional 30 minutes at 400 in a 9 inch pyrex pie plate. I covered the edges with foil and took it off the last 5 minutes of baking. When the pie was done, I spread some glaze I had left over from cinnamon buns while the pie was still hot. I used the store brand of refrigerated pie crust. My son said the only change to the recipe should be to put vanilla ice cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
It is great thank you for the idea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I used 1/2 regular sugar and 1/2 brown sugar. I also baked at 450 for 10 min. then 45 min. at 350. It was great try it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I don't know what went wrong tonight, but it took 2 hours to bake this pie. I've always had great success with apple pies, but this is the first time I've ever tried this particular recipe. I used a mix of baking apples fresh from a local orchard, which I do every fall. But the apples were so dry looking after 45 minutes in the oven. There was absolutely no moisture for well over an hour and then it took another hour to get enough juice to bubble. I eventually covered the crust with aluminum foil to try to prevent it from getting much darker. We'll have to see tomorrow how it tastes. I realized later that this recipe never called for setting the apple mixture aside for a few minutes. Maybe that's what I should have done. I do say, though, the house smells phenomenal! Wish me luck tomorrow when I take it to my gathering for dessert. I won't have to worry about a soggy crust, anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Necessary alterations: Mix 2 tsp lemon juice with sliced apples. Also, increase sugar to 1 cup with addition of 1/2 cup brown sugar to original 1/2 cup of sugar, and decrease cinnamon to 1 1/2 tsp while adding 1/8 tsp nutmeg. Add 1 tsp vanilla and sprinkle corn starch into apple, flour and spice mixture. Voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ming

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Not too bad. Good basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Serendipitously, I forgot to add the butter to the apple mix. The apples I used were going bad and this recipe made them deeeelicious. Cut a pattern into the crust, baked it according to recipe, and topped it with sugar right out of the oven. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
It was simple to put together but for some reason came out dry, not sure what went wrong cause i followed recipe exactly. It did taste good just really not juicy enough for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Super simple, will be making it again real soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Very easy to make and loved it. I live in Central America, so apple pie is not a normal thing to make, gave one to my neighbors and they really loved it. We trade a lot of food back and forth, they give us local dishes and we give them American dishes. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States