Sunday's Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
your recipe is some what like mine except I add 1/2 the amount of regular sugar and add 1/2 brown sugar, also bake at 450 for 10 min. then 45 min. at 350. it great try it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I don't know what went wrong tonight, but it took 2 hours to bake this pie. I've always had great success with apple pies, but this is the first time I've ever tried this particular recipe. I used a mix of baking apples fresh from a local orchard, which I do every fall. But the apples were so dry looking after 45 minutes in the oven. There was absolutely no moisture for well over an hour and then it took another hour to get enough juice to bubble. I eventually covered the crust with aluminum foil to try to prevent it from getting much darker. We'll have to see tomorrow how it tastes. I realized later that this recipe never called for setting the apple mixture aside for a few minutes. Maybe that's what I should have done. I do say, though, the house smells phenomenal! Wish me luck tomorrow when I take it to my gathering for dessert. I won't have to worry about a soggy crust, anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Necessary alterations: Mix 2 tsp lemon juice with sliced apples. Also, increase sugar to 1 cup with addition of 1/2 cup brown sugar to original 1/2 cup of sugar, and decrease cinnamon to 1 1/2 tsp while adding 1/8 tsp nutmeg. Add 1 tsp vanilla and sprinkle corn starch into apple, flour and spice mixture. Voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ming

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Not too bad. Good basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Serendipitously, I forgot to add the butter to the apple mix. The apples I used were going bad and this recipe made them deeeelicious. Cut a pattern into the crust, baked it according to recipe, and topped it with sugar right out of the oven. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
It was simple to put together but for some reason came out dry, not sure what went wrong cause i followed recipe exactly. It did taste good just really not juicy enough for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Super simple, will be making it again real soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Very easy to make and loved it. I live in Central America, so apple pie is not a normal thing to make, gave one to my neighbors and they really loved it. We trade a lot of food back and forth, they give us local dishes and we give them American dishes. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Following the advice of others who have rated this recipe, I too added 1/4 cup of brown sugar and 1 tsp nutmeg. However, I find that the filling comes out best if you substitute the flour for corn starch and melt the butter in a skillet then heat the rest of the filling mixture until it starts to thicken. It was a fantastic pie with these changes but without the changes the filling has a tendency to come out too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I basically went by the recipe. However, I used more granny smith apples, less sugar, only 1 tsp. cinnamon, used cornstarch instead of flour and only used about 1 tbsp. butter. After coating sliced apples with sugar mixture I let sit for 10 minutes or so while I made the pastry crust. Scope out apples from bowl and press into pie shell, be sure not to get any of the liquid at the bottom of the bowl. ** I don't like an overpowering taste of cinnamon so I used less. Only used a few butter slices on top of apples before placing top crust. Brushed top of crust with a light coat of melted butter then sprinkled sugar, cinnamon & pumpkin pie spice mixture on it. Baked at 400 for 10 minutes then reduced to 325 for another 45 - 50 minutes. The last 10 minutes I placed a foil tent over pie. It turned out beautiful and was so delicious, my kids loved it. I will be keeping this recipe with the changes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States