Sunday Sticky Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This is hard to rate - overall we were pleased with the final product but that is based on making some changes. I used "Chicken Seasoning" from Heather's Fried Chicken on this site, in the flour to coat the chicken and then more in the gravy. (chicken seasoning mix: Stir together 2 tablespoons black pepper, 2 tablespoons garlic powder, 1 tablespoon paprika, and 1 tablespoons kosher salt.) I heated homemade chicken stock in the dutch oven - added the milk and simmered it before adding the seared chicken. For the chicken I just halved the chicken and cooked one half, it was not submerged in the gravy, just simmered in it. The gravy did need some more seasoning. I am glad I made this - it has been waiting for a picture for a long time. Not sure if I would make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Easy to prepare- yes. You will need additional cornstarch slurry to make the gravy have a consistency that is consistent with gravy! The gravy as is- extremely bland. It was OK after I spiced it up a good bit with salt, pepper etc. To say that this is anything like fried chicken is deceiving. The skin is limp and soggy, however I really did not expect it to be different based on the preparation. This chicken was moist but I have found other recipes that yield moist yummy chicken that are just as easy. This one will not be saved in my recipe box- sorry Joe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Sooo good! We usually make two, side-by-side in a turkey roasting pan... You can get two chicks at Costco for decent price! Soo much better than store bought rotisserie chicken! We will have one for dinner, and the other, I remove the meat from it and use it for enchiladas or another chicken dish later in the week.... (if the second chicken lasts that long!! :+)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This was pretty good, but I did add a lot of spices. But it made a lot of gravy which was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
Joe, this is a great recipe. Made it today and my husband loved it and so did I. I made 2 modifications, firstly I never had any green beans so I didn't add them and second I added seasoning salt with no MSG to the vegtable layer, the potatoe layer and to the chicken breast layer. Next time I will add one can of chicken broth and 1/2 cup of water instead of 2 chicken broth. I used seasoned breasts so there was no worry of the chicken being dry. Recipe is great, thank you so much for sharing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
like Grandma's house on Sunday evenings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
My husband liked this chicken. It tasted good but wasn't very appetizing to lood at. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
This was the first recipe I tried off of this site and I guess I could say it didn't make a very good first impression. We ate this and I don't think anybody was pleased. Yes, the chicken was tender but anything that you leave in the oven for an hour with that much liquid would be. I guess what I am trying to say is that it was so very plain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
Not bad. Many viewer's said it was bland so I added Old Bay cajun seasoning and salt to give it some flavor. After browning the chicken pieces in oil I dipped them in the coating mix again to make them more sticky and a bit thicker texture cause I remove the skin from the chicken pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SENNMILLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
I am not sure what was supposed to be sticky about this chicken, but it did not go over well with my family. The gravy was VERY thin...the cornstarch mixture did nothing to thicken it. I think if I make this again I will use less water and broth in order to have a thick gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States