Sunday Morning Lemon Poppy Seed Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I made these with whole wheat flour, and 1T honey instead of sugar. Great recipe for light and fluffy pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
not light or fluffy, not very lemony either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Loved this recipe. I forgot to pick up a lemon, but used reconstituted juice and did without the zest. Next time I will remember the lemon! Beware though that it doesn't serve 4 people. We had four of us and I doubled the recipe and we just had enough. They were great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Nice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Didn't really like them. They didn't taste like the muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This is my recipe and I just wanted to say thanks to all who have tried it! These pancakes are great with the standard butter & syrup, but our favorite topping is simple macerated raspberries & a dollop of whip cream. In a small bowl, mix some fresh raspberries in sugar, let it sit out on the counter while making the pancake batter & they're ready to go when the pancakes are done! Use any berries you prefer. I also like the idea of a simple light dusting of powdered sugar to make them "finger-food-friendly"! Thanks everyone! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I add 2 tablespoons vinegar, half whole wheat and half all purpose flour, I only use 1T butter or ghee and using the fresh lemon juice and zest are sublime! They are light and puffy, Perfect and delicious, my 3 year old gobbled them up! What a nice subtle zesty flavor for a change from the traditional!They are now my favorite pancakes, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
These pancakes were amazing! I've never had lemon pancakes and they are so good-my 5 kids just loved them! We live at a high altitude (above 9K) so I only added 1 tsp of baking powder (and made my own since I was out....2 parts cream of tartar + 1 part baking soda). They puffed up nice and the lemon flavor was wonderful! I used one small lemon for juicing and 2 whole lemons for zesting...we also put in the pulp from the lemon we juiced. That made them very lemony and really helped the lemon flavor come out. We topped them with raw honey and butter. We will def. be making these again! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lemon Juice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
these were good. at least i liked them and my 11 month daughter liked them. My husband, who hates anything with Lemon in them, actually ate several of these. He says they are decent and he will eat them if i insist on serving them, but he wouldnt request them. (we will make them every now and then when i want my lemon fix). i didnt use poppy seeds. but only because i didnt have any. i look forward to trying them with the seeds next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kharis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
My family and I loved these. I sweetened some mixed berries and put on the top of these and some whip cream...YUM! But- I didn't have any fresh lemons on hand or poppy seeds, and used lemon juice in replacement of the vinegar. SO good. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
If you like lemon, you must try these pancakes. They are my new favorite. The lemon/poppy seed combination is perfect. The came out light and fluffy and perfectly round. My kids had theirs with syrup, but I had mine with blueberry sauce, and they were just fabulous! Great Wednesday morning pancake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States