Sunday Morning Lemon Poppy Seed Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Pros: Great idea, good pancake texture, instructions accurate. Cons: Not lemony, poppy-y enough Our preference: Replace vinegar with additional lemon juice (2Tbsp total, but no extra). Add extra zest (from 2-3 lemons, 2 tsp minimum). Extra poppy seeds (we use triple!) Thanks for a yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Delicious!!! Definitely a five star recipe. I halved the recipe to make just six pancakes for myself and now I regret that decision! I could have eaten a dozen! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
We love these. They are light, fluffy, and delicious! I double the recipe and use half vanilla extract and half lemon extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Very tasty. I might use all lemon juice instead of vinegar. Maybe 3tbs lemon juice. I used more zest, and next time 1 full tsp vanilla extract. Also, since I love poppy, I think you could do 4 tsp poppy seeds. Otherwise very good and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
After reading previous reviews I used all lemon juice instead of vinegar and also used the rind off of 2 lemons. they were plenty lemony. These were tasty. That being said, I probably will not make them again. They tasted like the muffins, but not as sweet, so it felt like something was missing. I think I'll probably just leave the lemon poppy seeds to cakes and muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
These pancakes were delicious! I made a warm fruit compote using frozen cherries...you could use any kind of fruit...let me just say 'amazing'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Amazing beautiful and fluffy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
After many tries, I have found my pancake recipe! Fluffy, light and crispy on the edges. Tastes great mixed with butterscotch chips, too. Restaurant quality. Thank you TTV78
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Delicious! I made a lemon glaze to drizzle because they did need a little "something" to sweeten them up. Delicious on their own, for sure but we sweetened it up for a special breakfast with the kiddies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I made the recipe as is (with the exception of 1/4 of the flour being wheat flour) and the kids loved them. They were the lightest, fluffiest pancake I have made from scratch. Next time, I plan to use all lemon juice instead of vinegar to sour the milk and I may reduce the poppy seed (just because I don't care for that flavor as much as the lemon). We ate it with blueberries and cool whip instead of syrup and it was a great combination of flavor. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States