Sunday Morning Lemon Poppy Seed Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Made these for breakfast today (on a Sunday, of course!), and they were so fluffy and wonderful. My boyfriend can't stop raving about them. I did add 2T lemon juice rather than use the vinegar, and doubled the lemon zest and poppyseeds. In my opinion, using fresh lemons is essential for the flavor to really come out. I also made a blueberry compote to go with them (about a cup or so frozen blueberries, a few tablespoons sugar, + some lemon juice & zest) and that just put it over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
I liked the poppy seed crunch, but the lemon flavor didn't come through and it was a bit heavy for my taste. If I ever made these again, I would up the Lemon zest, add lemon extract and increase the milk to 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I completely messed up the order of ingredients and even had one pancake cooking when I realized I missed 3 ingredients. So I scooped it back into the batter bowl, added the ingredients, and cooked them again and it still turned out awesome. Great alternative to a pancake and I'm sure the next time around they will be even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
I'm really surprised at how tasty and light these pancakes turned out. I really love lemon, so following the advice of many other reviewers, I doubled the zest. I actually forgot to add the egg, and I think that made my pancakes even lighter! Next time I'll triple the zest and add some more lemon juice, since the flavor was just barely discernible. My youngest and I ate the entire single batch! If cooking for more than two people, I'd advise you to triple the batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I love these, they are one of my favorite weekend breakfasts. I use milk and lemon juice to create the needed buttermilk. I don't have lemon zest at the house so I just omit that and serve these with a homemade vanilla syrup. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Delicious! Followed the recipe exactly. Perfect for a sweet little lemon snack. I dusted mine with powdered sugar and squeezed lemon juice over the sugar for a super sweet super lemony treat. If you love lemon poppy this recipe is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nona Buisness

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ameira
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Added a tablespoon more of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I love lemon-poppyseed muffins, so this pancake recipe caught my eye. I made the recipe exactly as listed and they turned out perfect. Very light and fluffy, and the flavor is spot on. I will share this recipe with others and will use it often for guests in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Amazing! Especially with mixed berries and whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I make these all the time. I have yet to have someone try them and not like them. GREAT Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States