Sunday Morning Lemon Poppy Seed Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I made these with whole wheat flour, and 1T honey instead of sugar. Great recipe for light and fluffy pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This is my recipe and I just wanted to say thanks to all who have tried it! These pancakes are great with the standard butter & syrup, but our favorite topping is simple macerated raspberries & a dollop of whip cream. In a small bowl, mix some fresh raspberries in sugar, let it sit out on the counter while making the pancake batter & they're ready to go when the pancakes are done! Use any berries you prefer. I also like the idea of a simple light dusting of powdered sugar to make them "finger-food-friendly"! Thanks everyone! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
The whole family loved this recipe. I substituted apple sauce for the whipped cream accompaniment (personal preference) and it was awesome. Will definitely become a feature in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
light and delicious- will make these again-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Loved this recipe. I forgot to pick up a lemon, but used reconstituted juice and did without the zest. Next time I will remember the lemon! Beware though that it doesn't serve 4 people. We had four of us and I doubled the recipe and we just had enough. They were great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Nice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I add 2 tablespoons vinegar, half whole wheat and half all purpose flour, I only use 1T butter or ghee and using the fresh lemon juice and zest are sublime! They are light and puffy, Perfect and delicious, my 3 year old gobbled them up! What a nice subtle zesty flavor for a change from the traditional!They are now my favorite pancakes, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
These pancakes were amazing! I've never had lemon pancakes and they are so good-my 5 kids just loved them! We live at a high altitude (above 9K) so I only added 1 tsp of baking powder (and made my own since I was out....2 parts cream of tartar + 1 part baking soda). They puffed up nice and the lemon flavor was wonderful! I used one small lemon for juicing and 2 whole lemons for zesting...we also put in the pulp from the lemon we juiced. That made them very lemony and really helped the lemon flavor come out. We topped them with raw honey and butter. We will def. be making these again! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lemon Juice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jog Dish
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Absolutley delicious! These pancakes were so light and fluffy, and the lemon flavor was very subtle. We served with a sprinkle of powdered sugar and some fresh whipped cream. Thanks for this amazing recipe, we will be making this one again soon:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
The only thing I changed was omitting the poppy seeds, just because I didn't have any:) I have two small kids (2 and 3) and they LOVE pancakes, but I dread the maple syrup mess. These pancakes eliminate this problem because they are so tasty with just some butter and a sprinkle of powdered sugar! Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
makes an awesome batter and they cook up nice...great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States