Sunday Morning Lemon Poppy Seed Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I made these with whole wheat flour, and 1T honey instead of sugar. Great recipe for light and fluffy pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
These were a nice change to the standard pancake recipe. They were light and fluffy with a nice flavour. The lemon was a nice addition; present but not overpowering. I used all lemon juice rather than using white vinegar as well. Since they pretty much serve the same purpose, I just opted to use the juice of one whole lemon. I used 2 teaspoons of poppy seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I'm always on the lookout for lemon-flavored ANYthing as I (heart) lemon. When I tasted the raw batter, yowza -- it packs some serious zing! And even cooked, there is no doubt you are dining upon light and fluffy lemony pancakes. While maple syrup is the standard accompaniment for such breakfast fare, I opted to guild the lily and use homemade ginger preserves... Good Morning! Thanks so much TTV78.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
These pancakes were amazing! I've never had lemon pancakes and they are so good-my 5 kids just loved them! We live at a high altitude (above 9K) so I only added 1 tsp of baking powder (and made my own since I was out....2 parts cream of tartar + 1 part baking soda). They puffed up nice and the lemon flavor was wonderful! I used one small lemon for juicing and 2 whole lemons for zesting...we also put in the pulp from the lemon we juiced. That made them very lemony and really helped the lemon flavor come out. We topped them with raw honey and butter. We will def. be making these again! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lemon Juice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
If you like lemon, you must try these pancakes. They are my new favorite. The lemon/poppy seed combination is perfect. The came out light and fluffy and perfectly round. My kids had theirs with syrup, but I had mine with blueberry sauce, and they were just fabulous! Great Wednesday morning pancake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Loved this recipe. I forgot to pick up a lemon, but used reconstituted juice and did without the zest. Next time I will remember the lemon! Beware though that it doesn't serve 4 people. We had four of us and I doubled the recipe and we just had enough. They were great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Nice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
A very good pancake for Monday morning breakfast treat with a little bit of wildberry jam it is terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheerios

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
My family and I loved these. I sweetened some mixed berries and put on the top of these and some whip cream...YUM! But- I didn't have any fresh lemons on hand or poppy seeds, and used lemon juice in replacement of the vinegar. SO good. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jog Dish
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Absolutley delicious! These pancakes were so light and fluffy, and the lemon flavor was very subtle. We served with a sprinkle of powdered sugar and some fresh whipped cream. Thanks for this amazing recipe, we will be making this one again soon:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I add 2 tablespoons vinegar, half whole wheat and half all purpose flour, I only use 1T butter or ghee and using the fresh lemon juice and zest are sublime! They are light and puffy, Perfect and delicious, my 3 year old gobbled them up! What a nice subtle zesty flavor for a change from the traditional!They are now my favorite pancakes, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States