Sunday Morning Lemon Poppy Seed Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Nice lemon flavor. I used whole wheat pastry flour. The batter was really thick, so I had to add a little water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbieT.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Not lemony enough for my liking. Sprinkle with lemon juice just before serving, and use all lemon juice instead of vinegar. Next time I'll double up on the poppy seeds. These were a great change from the normal routine. Will make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
A great recipe. I didn't have poppy seeds, so I added 3 tbsps of shredded coconut instead of it. I added 2 tsps of lime zest and 3 tbsps of lime juice instead of vinegar. I substituted whole wheat flour for ap flour and vegetable oil for butter. It was so tasty! Great with condensed milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valeria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I took a shortcut with this recipe and it still turned out great. I used 1 cup ready made pancake mix and followed the directions on the back of the box (something like add one egg, milk, and some oil). Then for the lemon poppyseed part I added the zest of one entire lemon, the juice of half a lemon, 1 teaspoon vanilla extract, and one teaspoon poppyseeds. Quicker and easier than making from scratch and tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Followed the recipe as written, although used fresh squeezed lemon juice and I doubled the lemon zest. I will make it again but I will double the lemon juice as the family did not really taste the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
These were pretty good, very lemony. I followed the recipe exactly for a triple batch, served with bacon. We tried it with store bought blueberry syrup and regular pancake syrup and I was surprised to find we preferred the regular syrup with these. My children (3 and 8) enjoyed them just fine but my husband was NOT impressed. He likes my lemon bars but did not appriciate me "messing" with his pancakes. I am freezing the leftovers for quick breakfasts on days he is away on business trips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Great recipe! The pancakes were delicious. If I were to make the recipe again, I would probably omit the sugar from the batter...as someone who likes to eat pancakes with maple syrup, it was unnecessary. Additionally, I think the recipe needs more lemon zest. I used the zest of one whole lemon and the taste didn't come through as much as I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I made this receipt ... 1 word: DELICIOUS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chaos
Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
These are the bomb! Served alongside bananas with softened peanut butter on top, glazed with maple syrup--this was the perfect Shrove Tuesday spoiler event. It was so good we made a second batch for seconds. Some considerations--add about 1/4-1/3 more cup than what is being called for if you do not want so thick of a pancake; make sure to use fresh lemon juice (and not the liquid concentrate!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Thanks. This is the best pancake recipe I've found on this site. For one thing, the recipe actually makes 8 full-sized pancakes. They had great flavor and cooked quick without burning. I did everything as written except I used dried grated lemon peel instead of zest and I used orange juice instead of milk (I was out of milk). I also used rice vinegar because that's what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States