Sunday Morning Lemon Poppy Seed Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
Yum!! I substituted 3/4 + 2T buttermilk and two tablespoons lemon juice instead of souring the milk, as buttermilk tends to thicken more than soured milk. The taste was delicious and the texture perfectly fluffy. The only reason I rated this four stars instead of five is because I felt it needed both more poppy seeds and more lemon zest. I added an extra half teaspoon of poppy seeds when I could only barely see them in the batter, but couldn't really add more lemon until after I had tasted the finished product. Still, a good recipe and one that will remain in my arsenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cblwolf

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
SO good! So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
These pancakes and light and fluffy and really delicious. Not overpowering in lemon - just right. I made a few changes based in the ingredients I had... I didn't have real milk, so I used light plain soymilk and it still curdled a bit with the lemon. I also skipped the vinegar and just used the juice from a while lemon. Also, I didn't have poppyseeds, so I left that out altogether. And as others suggested, I used ½ regular flour and ½ whole wheat flour, which gave it a nice texture and nuttiness. I make this when I had an unexpected guest for breakfast and we both enjoyed it. Next time I'll make it closer to the regular recipe, but I'll probably still use the lemon instead of vinegar and combine while wheat and all-purpose flour, since those additions were tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Made these for breakfast today (on a Sunday, of course!), and they were so fluffy and wonderful. My boyfriend can't stop raving about them. I did add 2T lemon juice rather than use the vinegar, and doubled the lemon zest and poppyseeds. In my opinion, using fresh lemons is essential for the flavor to really come out. I also made a blueberry compote to go with them (about a cup or so frozen blueberries, a few tablespoons sugar, + some lemon juice & zest) and that just put it over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
I liked the poppy seed crunch, but the lemon flavor didn't come through and it was a bit heavy for my taste. If I ever made these again, I would up the Lemon zest, add lemon extract and increase the milk to 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I completely messed up the order of ingredients and even had one pancake cooking when I realized I missed 3 ingredients. So I scooped it back into the batter bowl, added the ingredients, and cooked them again and it still turned out awesome. Great alternative to a pancake and I'm sure the next time around they will be even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
I'm really surprised at how tasty and light these pancakes turned out. I really love lemon, so following the advice of many other reviewers, I doubled the zest. I actually forgot to add the egg, and I think that made my pancakes even lighter! Next time I'll triple the zest and add some more lemon juice, since the flavor was just barely discernible. My youngest and I ate the entire single batch! If cooking for more than two people, I'd advise you to triple the batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I love these, they are one of my favorite weekend breakfasts. I use milk and lemon juice to create the needed buttermilk. I don't have lemon zest at the house so I just omit that and serve these with a homemade vanilla syrup. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Slice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Delicious! Followed the recipe exactly. Perfect for a sweet little lemon snack. I dusted mine with powdered sugar and squeezed lemon juice over the sugar for a super sweet super lemony treat. If you love lemon poppy this recipe is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nona Buisness

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ameira
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Added a tablespoon more of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States