Sunday Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I left of the shrimp and added a little more rice. My husband and I loved it! We kept all the other ingts. the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abirleffi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Best gumbo recipe I've made. My husband, who is not a gumbo fan, loved it as well as my 3 year old. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This recipe was delicious!!! I omitted the brown rice & added some homemade cheesy polenta/grits upon serving, which added an even more hearty element to the gumbo. I also added some cajun & old bay seasonings. Made me want to take a trip to the "big easy!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Awesome! I made a few minor changes to go with what I had on hand. It was the very best I've ever had - even my husband who turned up his nose had 2 large bowls and asked for more the following day! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Romulus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This was wonderful! Full of flavor and perfect for a cold rainy night! Only change I made was I used kielbasa instead of italian sausage. My husband said it was just as good as the Gumbo we had in New Orleans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
This was fabulous! Even better the second day. I used green beans instead of okra & boneless chicken thighs instead of breasts (just what I had on hand). Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
My family loved it! We substituted a few things but it was great and we had enough to freeze for another meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This recipe is the best gumbo I have ever made. I have made it several times, my family loves it. I use andouille sausage and skip the okra and it is still wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
The best! I follow the recipe exactly except I use fresh garlic, some of Emeril's Bayou Blast, some Crystal hot sauce (or Tabasco) , fresh parsley and a pinch of sugar. The brown rice takes about 45 minutes to cook in the soup, not 20. This recipe is so great, I always make it for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by kreativekuisine
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I have made this recipe twice - once with sausage and shrimp and once with just chicken. This is a really good recipe. The flavor of the sausage adds so much more to this dish. It was a great mixture of flavors. Update: 10/13/09 I made this dish again with the sausage, chicken and shrimp and it was the best! I removed the casings from my sausage and that made the texture better. I also cooked the rice separately and poured the gumbo on top. This is definitely a keeper. My parents and my friends enjoyed this a great deal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kreativekuisine

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States