Sunday Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
GREAT!!!...This was my first time trying gumbo and the recipe was very easy to follow and it turned out wonderful. I kinda liked it better the next day but good either way ;o) Even got rave reviews from my bf's dad....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pretty_tiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
quite tasty. I prepared the rice ahead of time and added chicken broth to the soup to the consistency that I wanted. I added raw shrimp for the very last few minutes to that they were not over cooked. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Used only sausage and chicken. Added cajun seasoning. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Fantastic!!! If I could give more stars I would. All I can say is to make a double batch. I did and it is going fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Noble, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This was such a hit! I made it for a potluck at work and they decided that they are all going to pool together every month to have me make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This is an excellent roux-less gumbo, perfect for when you want gumbo but dont have the time required to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
This was my first time making gumbo. As a child watching my Mama make gumbo convinced me to never attempt the task. It isn’t Mama’s recipe but she would be proud. This recipe was very easy to make and delicious. I used half the required amount of cayenne pepper and tripled the ingredients; it served 27 men, women and children. Everyone loved it! This recipe not only made me popular with family, friends, and neighbors it’s given me confidence to join the elite club of “Gumbo Braggers”. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Not authentic but lower in fat and easier to make than the traditional recipe. I always burn roux so it was nice to find a recipe that didn't require one. Still quite tasty though and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Just okay. The flavors were really missing for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I used red cabbage and didn't like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wavy437

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States