Sunday Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I loved this recipe! Of course... I'm from New England and I have never had Gumbo but I was very happy because I have always LOVED Okra; it added a nice thickness to the meal. If I was to change anything I would have pre-cooked the rice in my rice cooker to speed up the recipe a bit, I think the rice took too long to cook but probably because I stirred it a few times. I also added some creole seasoning but pretty much stuck to the recipe. Thank you very much- an easy introductory recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
this was awsome! it is now the only dish i have found that my hubby will eat the shrimp out of. it made a tone. i added more thyme and the other spices. i left out the hot stuff. but i did add some franks red hot. thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irwinkris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oscoda, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kokomo, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Cooked it last night for me and my boyfriend. It does make alot but I am glad cause this was so good I will eat left overs. Next time I will cut it in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Not quite gumbo but great none the less. You have to change the ingredients to your taste. The second time I made it I used Cajun seasoning and not oregano. i also use a green pepper the second time because I thought the red was a little overpowering or maybe I used to much.. A great recipe to put you own touches on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
This came out delicious! Everyone loved it including my daughter, Sarah! Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
followed it exact- wonderful!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Not wanting to spend the time to make an authentic gumbo, and having leftover roasted chicken and kielbasa, I decided this was an interesting dish to make on a cold day. I didn't add okra since we don't like the texture. This dish was very good and quite easy to make. I think the kielbasa provided a more authentic taste than Italian sausage. And because I didn't have all the spices on hand, I used the equivalent of Emeril's seasoning. The gumbo had a nice combination of broth to "goodies", and had a rich, brown color as if a roux had been made. I cut the kielbasa into rounds, and added the leftover chicken and cooked shrimp last, just long enough to warm them. The gumbo definitely had some kick, and I will make it again. Thanks for a very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I made a few slight changes such as using Italian seasoning in place of the marjoram, adding Tony Cachere's seasoning to taste and using diced tomatoes w/chilies. This gumbo was awesome! I took it to a church function and everyone was raving!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I made this as our Thanksgiving opening course and it was a huge hit! I grilled the chicken breast and I doubled the brown rice. It was perfect for us. If I could give it six stars I would. Makes a TON.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States