Sunday Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
this was awsome! it is now the only dish i have found that my hubby will eat the shrimp out of. it made a tone. i added more thyme and the other spices. i left out the hot stuff. but i did add some franks red hot. thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irwinkris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oscoda, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kokomo, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Cooked it last night for me and my boyfriend. It does make alot but I am glad cause this was so good I will eat left overs. Next time I will cut it in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Not quite gumbo but great none the less. You have to change the ingredients to your taste. The second time I made it I used Cajun seasoning and not oregano. i also use a green pepper the second time because I thought the red was a little overpowering or maybe I used to much.. A great recipe to put you own touches on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
This came out delicious! Everyone loved it including my daughter, Sarah! Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
followed it exact- wonderful!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Not wanting to spend the time to make an authentic gumbo, and having leftover roasted chicken and kielbasa, I decided this was an interesting dish to make on a cold day. I didn't add okra since we don't like the texture. This dish was very good and quite easy to make. I think the kielbasa provided a more authentic taste than Italian sausage. And because I didn't have all the spices on hand, I used the equivalent of Emeril's seasoning. The gumbo had a nice combination of broth to "goodies", and had a rich, brown color as if a roux had been made. I cut the kielbasa into rounds, and added the leftover chicken and cooked shrimp last, just long enough to warm them. The gumbo definitely had some kick, and I will make it again. Thanks for a very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I made a few slight changes such as using Italian seasoning in place of the marjoram, adding Tony Cachere's seasoning to taste and using diced tomatoes w/chilies. This gumbo was awesome! I took it to a church function and everyone was raving!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I made this as our Thanksgiving opening course and it was a huge hit! I grilled the chicken breast and I doubled the brown rice. It was perfect for us. If I could give it six stars I would. Makes a TON.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
GREAT!!!...This was my first time trying gumbo and the recipe was very easy to follow and it turned out wonderful. I kinda liked it better the next day but good either way ;o) Even got rave reviews from my bf's dad....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pretty_tiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States