Sunday Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Wow! This is probably the best recipe I have ever made from allrecipes.com or anywhere. It was absolutely delicious. It tastes like restaurant quality. I made a few slight tweaks. Added 1t basil, 1t salt, 1/2t pepper, 1t parsley; I used a green bell pepper instead of the red pepper since its more authentic from what I understand. Then I cooked the rice (Jasmine) separately. After the rice cooked, I sprinkled a little lemon & lime juice on it, and cut a roma tomato in slices onto the rice --and garnished w/parsley flakes. Omgsh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Virtuenow

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
The taste was excellent. The next time I will cut my sausage the same size as the chicken and shrimp. Wonderful flavor. I will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Super yummy! So much flavor and even better leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This was delicious. Did not have the marjoram but both of us really enjoyed it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This recipe is absolutely delicious!!!!! It's just the right amount of spicy....even my 3 year old daughter asked for seconds and more the following day!!! Made this gumbo a couple months ago and going to make it again today!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This was fantastic! Just the right about of spiciness. Followed the recipe exactly. Can't wait to have some tomorrow when I know it will taste even better. Thanks for sharing. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Really, really good, but Gumbo without Rue? I love this recipe and will make again, but I did make a major change. After cooking the meat and then veg and removing both to a crockpot to keep warm, I made a nice dark rue out of oil and flour. I lived in NOLA too long not to make this traditional and as is this is soup and not gumbo. After the rue was dark stirred in warm broth and then finished out as directed in recipe. LOVED it!! Oh and I served over jasmine rice and didn't do the brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lzhuber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okeene, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I've never made gumbo before and this was extremely easy and delicious! Definitely left a good flavor in my mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Floundergirl07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naknek, Alaska, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Delish!! Perfect for a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This is a restaurant quality recipe. It is really really good!! I followed the recipe exactly and will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States