Sunday Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
So good! I put it all in my crockpot except for shrimp I stirred that in before serving. Also used frozen bag of french cut green beans instead of okra, andouille sausage, and a can of rotel for the diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
LOVED this recipe! my husband and I made it on a rainy Sunday and enjoyed it for days! Planning on making again soon. Only change is I used Chorizo sausage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
This recipe was D-E-L-I-C-I-O-U-S! (except the fact that okra is gross and slimy - next time I will omit.) I followed the directions exactly and it was a HUGE hit with family and friends- they even wanted to take leftovers home! I'm not a good cook in any way, but the way my guests raved about this dish made me feel like an expert. This is permanently in my recipe box - and I will make it again...and again...and again. Oh, and I made some corn bread to go with it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I have made this recipe several times. Use fresh garlic not powder. I added more chicken broth. Instead of italian sausage I used chorizo and this really makes the Gumbo. Cook the day ahead and let sit over night and the next day the flavor is awesome. Use brown rice...we all could use the extra fiber and truly the kids won't know the difference. I have high blood pressure and used no sodium chicken broth and tomatoes. Still tastes awesome because the chorizo has sodium in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Best dish I've ever made. Makes be really want to cook and try new recipes more. So tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Great recipe. the only adjustment I made was to decrease the cayenne to 1/4 tea. I have a 2 yo that loves soups and stews. This was a keeper for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I used Italian HOT Sausage and omitted the cayenne. It would have been fine for me, but not with kids. I cut the sausage before I browned it and it didn't fall apart and presentation didn't look that bad. At first it looked like a minestrone soup, but I let it cook on the stove for a while. What happened was the Okra actually fell apart and thickened the gumbo. Which is good, because when I first added the Okra and tasted it a few minutes later, it still had a nice crunch to it. Then after a little more time went by it started tasting slimy. I'm glad that it did what it did, because like I said, it made the gumbo thick and YUMMY. I read some gumbo basics and it said that a roux or okra was necessary for gumbo. I am assuming for the thickening effect. If I were making this for my kids I wouldn't use the hot sausage. Great recipe though. I will make it for adults next time and add some more heat with the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I do not eat meat so I was unable to taste this dish. I made it for my boyfriend and my friend's husband. They absolutely loved it!! It was all the rave!! Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Great quick recipe! We didn't add the okra, and we added a bit of Old Bay! Even the kids raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nachoqtpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Absolutely delish! My family loved it... mother of twin 4yr olds. I just cut back on the cayanne. They even asked for more. Super happy with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kiron, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States