Sunday Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tera Byard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This is a really delicious dish. I used fresh tomatoes and okra, and 3 minced garlic cloves instead of powder. Also used 64 oz of broth (my containers are 32oz), so I upped the veggies & rice accordingly. Left everything else the same. My whole family (toddlers included) loved this gumbo. This will be going on my monthly menu plan, and I've shared the link on Facebook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
This recipe has become one of our Sunday afternoon traditions in the fall & winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Matthews, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This was truly excellent. I had to make some substitutions based on what I had in the kitchen (fresh tomatoes instead of canned, etc.) and the recipe held up very well. I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
My family LOVED this! The only ingredient substitutions I made were 2 fresh garlic cloves sauteed with the onion, bell pepper and celery instead of garlic powder added with the marjoram and thyme, turkey kielbasa, and brown rice. Dad said this one is a repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Just AWESOME! My whole family loves this. Since we're from the Texas :) I do add one pablano pepper (de-seeded) with the other veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
A great quick gumbo. I used Italian chicken sausage and it was fantastic. Other than the sausage I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Chief

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amityville, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
It was good but it needs more seasonings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gbv239
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I've had gumbo many times and this was my first time cooking it. I followed the recipe exactly. I only put a full tsp. of Cayenne and garlic powder. It was the best I've ever had. I wanted to invite the world to diner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by propagandhi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This was good but had a little more liquid than I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States