Sunday Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Have made this many times and it has never disappointed. Will continue to make this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
There were absolutely no leftovers when I made this for a family New Orleans dinner! There was only one minor change I made- I left out the okra. I live in New York and it was very difficult to find it, but the dish worked well without it. Just enough spice to be PERFECT. Making it again for this years Mardi Gras. Also, make sure to either make or buy some fresh Italian bread, it really makes the gumbo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DancinDiva444

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
very good as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
A little on the spicy side but really good. I used ground italian sausage instead of the links.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
My family loves this recipe. I even cheat a bit and just use ground sausage and ground turkey instead of the chicken. Not as authentic, but still so yummy! Leftovers are nearly as good as fresh too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This was so surprisingly good, I had to leave a review... Haven't had gumbo in over 14 years and have only had it once in New Orleans. My little girl had just watched 'princess and the Frog' and begged me to make gumbo with her so the search began... This was better than the original gumbo I had and was So easy to throw together, I had all the ingredients on hand aside from the shrimp. Only changed a few minor things...used smoked turkey sausage instead, cut back on the cayenne and added a few dashes of Louisianna hot sauce instead. Also, I cut the raw chicken into big chunks and when it was all cooked, I shredded it into smaller chunks to let the chicken absorb more sauce. Served with sliced tomatoes and Louisianna hot sauce on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GatorGirl25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This is so good! I changed the recipe to use Andouille sausage instead of Italian, and I didn't have marjoram or thyme, so I used basil & parsley but it's a hit with the family. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I made just as listed and it was GREAT. My wife even likes it and that is the greatest compliment. She is not like Mikey and is very hard to cook for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I made this for dinner last night. It was delicious. I did change a few things, no okra, so I substituted some zucchini, used fresh minced garlic instead of powder and added some black beans. Very flavorful and easy. In fact my husband and I ate the WHOLE thing (I had reduced it to 8 serving, but still!!!) Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
big hit with the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DdAyWeN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Habra, California, USA
Living In: Brea, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States