Sunday Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
This is a fantastic recipe. I made these rolls for our first married Christmas and they turned out to be the very best part of the meal. I shaped the dough to make clover leaf rolls and managed to cram it all in to an even dozen. They rose beautifully, were perfectly golden, and may be the best thing I have ever made in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
This was a lot of work for rolls.. I used Imperial vegetable oil spread which I think gave it a bit more of a buttery taste than vegetable oil would have created.. I also just made little roll balls instead of the pizza shape instructions and let rise on the pan for maybe a half an hour instead of the 2 called for in the recipe.. The rolls came out good and tasted good too. I can see where these would be perfect for sunday dinner after church but I just didn't have the patience required to follow the recipe exactly time wise..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Made this for Thanksgiving and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
I haven't made rolls for a few years. I tried this one for Thanksgiving dinner. It was fantastic. I doubled the recipe and it was fine. I also used about 1/3 cup more sugar (my family likes them sweeter). I was in such a hurry and so busy the night before Thanksgiving, I let them rise and bake the same night without putting them in the refrigerator. Works great! I will use again! Charlotte Smith. Lansing, Mi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
My daughter and I attempted these dinner rolls to bring with us for Thanksgiving dinner - used the bread machine to mix and rise the dough then we rolled it out and used a biscuit cutter. They turned out wonderful. Will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
I made these rolls for Thanksgiving dinner and the in-laws were inpressed! I split the dough and made part in to the crescent shapes and part into bun shaped. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I made a double batch of these rolls and they are good, but like P.Pedd says I think they were lacking the flavor my regular recipe has so I think I will make with their recommendation of using butter and milk next time. They were very light textured which we all loved and everyone loved them today, straight out of the oven. While the dough is somewhat sticky, I found a light dusting of flour on my board was plenty to keep them from sticking. The yield of a double batch was 48 rolls and 12 wonderful cinnamon rolls. Will post a follow-up after trying with the substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gayle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I threw the ingredients into my bread machine. Rolled out as instructed. Cut with a pizza cutter. Very easy recipe when using a bread machine for the dough. Will definitely make again. - I made these a 2nd time planning on using the dough for pigs in a blanket. I had leftover dough and made large oval shaped rolls out of it. My husband used the rolls to make pannini's (flattened down and grilled bread). Came out nice and crisp. Very versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne Oberlin Rutkowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Wonderful textured rolls but lacked that buttery flavor we love in our rolls.! The dough was so soft that I could not roll it out and cut it into triangles. So I made balls(these spread out beautifully) and finally scooped the rest of the dough into muffin pans (these did not rise as well). Next time, I will use butter, eliminate 1/4 C liquid, and use milk instead of water (should be less sticky). They are wonderfully light and airy!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joanna, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
This recipe was so good. I, too, will be using this one for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States