Sunday Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I found this recipe 5 years ago when I was living in Trinidad. Every Sunday I would cook a nice dinner for my husband and me and also for anywhere from 4-10 young missionaries. Not only did I love it at first bite, but no matter how many dozen I would make, they would all get eaten. I've made this recipe in Guyana and Fiji where I was also serving young missionaries. And when I lived in china for a year teaching English, I made it for a group of American teachers whenever it was my turn to cook the rolls for our weekly Sunday dinner gathering. So, the rolls from this recipe has been loved and devoured all over the world. They are easy to make. My grandchildren love the crescent shape. The adults always admire their light and melt-in-your-mouth texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Ok, I must have done something wrong in the preparation process. Dough didn't rise as expected, not sure why cos I've used the yeast before and it worked fine. Baked goods were not interesting to look at though they tasted nice. Will have to try this again soon and try to find where I missed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I ended up making this recipe without eggs because I activated the yeast before I realized I was out of eggs. I figured it would be an experiment in cooking at the least. The dough turned out just fine without the eggs. Also, I was too impatient to roll the dough out and cut into triangles to roll up like croissants. So I just rolled little chunks of it into balls and baked it that way. DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This dough is soft and nice. I used this dough to make a mini hotdog rolls and everyone in the family especially kids just love it. And for my husband luncheon bread , I replaced the white flour with wheat flour in weekdays as my husband very concern for his health. It is still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
These rolls came out better than I expected. I'm not very good making rolls for some reason. Something goes wrong. These gave me no problems. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TxFoodFan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This is truely an amazing recipe. The rolls where DELISH! I made two batchse of these for Thanksgiving dinner. The first batch out of the oven hardly made it 5 minutes before being consumed! Everyone was raving about them. Not only are they delish but they are also super easy. This recipe has definatly made it to my familys "must have" recipes! They where equally good either cold or reheated with some home made apple butter the next morning! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Very nice, rich rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Not the best flavor. I am used to a buttery, light roll. They were also very difficult to roll out. I ended up having to add a lot more flour because they were so sticky. I will go back to using my old recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This is a good recipe for ratios. I used milk and butter instead of water and oil. Just a pinch more sugar too, and the kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsJames

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I proofed the yeast in the bowl of my Kitchen Aid with the warm water and sugar for ten minutes, then added the eggs, the vegetable oil and the dry ingredients. I did not want to wait overnight for my rolls, I did speed up the process quite a bit so that I could have them for dinner. Once it was a semi-formed sticky ball, I set it to rise in a covered, greased bowl on a warm heating pad until it doubled. I then rolled it out, cut it into triangles and rolled the dough it into crescent rolls as the recipe stated. I did hurry the second rising by setting the crescent rolls on a warm heating pad--it cut the rising time back by half. The baking time was spot on--make sure you watch your rolls as it gets closer to eight minutes, they will burn quickly. Out of the oven, I brushed each crescent roll with vegetable oil. This roll recipe was pretty good. The texture of these was truly amazing--they were light and fluffy and just about melt in your mouth. BUT, there really wasn't much flavor. I really missed the flavor that butter adds. I would make this recipe again but I think I would use melted butter in place of the vegetable to get the "perfect" roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States