Sunday Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
To the reviewer before this post, this is how I do yeast bread. Your yeast must be fresh, dried in separate sachets or a container. If it is a little old, it might lose its rising ability. I always warm the liquids up - if the recipe calls for milk or water, I heat them in the microwave until blood temperature. When you stick your finger in the liquids it should neither feel slightly cool or overly warm, as yeast cannot activate with cold liquids and hot liquids kill yeast. You sprinkle the yeast into the warm liquid and let it sit there in a warmish place for 10 mins until it goes frothy. It is okay to add the sweetener to the yeast mix but do not add salt directly on top. Salt tends to kill yeast as well. Add oil to the yeast mixture after it's become frothy and the eggs are beaten lightly with a fork. Then, I add the required flour and salt on top of that. You knead the dough until it becomes elastic, I do this in a bread machine or with a dough hook. Put the dough in a lightly greased bowl, cover with a clean towel and leave in a warm place. Warm as in a warm, sunny spot or beside a hot oven, on top of a working dryer, even an oven turned down to its lowest setting (remember too hot and the yeast dies - no rising). If you are going to rise in the oven, you're better off rolling the rolls out first. If you want to have a golden brown top with seeds, use lightly beaten egg, or butter and smear tops after they have risen because they do not rise as much with this on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
These rolls are excellent! I doubled the batch and made a ton of them for a big family get together. I loved the fact that you did not need to knead this dough, you just let it rise over night and it is ready to roll out in the morning. The only thing I did differently was that I used cold butter instead of the vegetable oil. I cut the butter into chunks and cut it in with the flour. It is good leave the butter chunky when you mix it all together because that way, when you bake the rolls, the chunks of butter melt and you end up with flaky layers, like croissants. Thanks for the recipe, I will be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
ok, so this may not be true to the original recipe but I had to review because these had to be the BEST yeast rolls I have EVER made (I've made quite a few from this site)...I proofed 1 1/2 packets yeast in 1/4 c warm water with pinch sugar, used 3/4 c milk instead of the 1 c water, 1/2 c melted butter instead of oil, 2 c all-purpose flour and 2 c bread flour...I mixed the ingredients according to the recipe, turned onto floured surface and kneaded for 5 minutes, let rise in warm place for 2 hours, separated into 24 dough balls, covered and let rise for 2 more hours, baked as directed...these will surely be the staple roll recipe in my house forever...thanks for submitting the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Gandee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Wonderful textured rolls but lacked that buttery flavor we love in our rolls.! The dough was so soft that I could not roll it out and cut it into triangles. So I made balls(these spread out beautifully) and finally scooped the rest of the dough into muffin pans (these did not rise as well). Next time, I will use butter, eliminate 1/4 C liquid, and use milk instead of water (should be less sticky). They are wonderfully light and airy!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joanna, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I've made this twice now. They turned out excellent. I don't agree about adding more flour than the recipe asks for. It is VERY sticky, but that makes them more moist! I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I put all the ingredients into my 2.5 lb bread machine. Put it on the dough setting. Let it mix & rise. Then dumped it out & used lots of flour to roll & cut as directed. I let them raise in a warmed oven for several hours. They were really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
I've never made rolls before and I'm usually a disaster with bread recipes. So I was worried about these rolls until the very end. They were fabulous. They looked great, they tasted great and I'm very happy. I can't wait to make these next week for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARRINE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Ewa Beach, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2001
I have struggled for a while to find a roll recipe that wasn't to difficult and yielded great result. This recipe was all that for me. The rolls were a little sweet, but came out perfectly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
These were the most delicous light and fluffy rolls I have ever tasted. Was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I threw the ingredients into my bread machine. Rolled out as instructed. Cut with a pizza cutter. Very easy recipe when using a bread machine for the dough. Will definitely make again. - I made these a 2nd time planning on using the dough for pigs in a blanket. I had leftover dough and made large oval shaped rolls out of it. My husband used the rolls to make pannini's (flattened down and grilled bread). Came out nice and crisp. Very versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne Oberlin Rutkowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2001
I was given several recipes for rolls and they NEVER turned out as good as these. I love this recipe so much and haave shared it with several friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States