Sunday Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
These are the first rolls I've been able to make that werent too dense and heavy! Thanks for posting a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
These were wonderful. Fluffy and light, though I did make some adjustments based on other reviews. Insetead of 1cup warm water, I used half a cup warm water and half a cup warm milk. I also used 1/2 cup melted butter in place of the vegetable oil, just becasue my family prefers buttery rolls. Great basic recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I've made this twice now. They turned out excellent. I don't agree about adding more flour than the recipe asks for. It is VERY sticky, but that makes them more moist! I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I put all the ingredients into my 2.5 lb bread machine. Put it on the dough setting. Let it mix & rise. Then dumped it out & used lots of flour to roll & cut as directed. I let them raise in a warmed oven for several hours. They were really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Very good. Shouldn't have cooked so thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
To the reviewer before this post, this is how I do yeast bread. Your yeast must be fresh, dried in separate sachets or a container. If it is a little old, it might lose its rising ability. I always warm the liquids up - if the recipe calls for milk or water, I heat them in the microwave until blood temperature. When you stick your finger in the liquids it should neither feel slightly cool or overly warm, as yeast cannot activate with cold liquids and hot liquids kill yeast. You sprinkle the yeast into the warm liquid and let it sit there in a warmish place for 10 mins until it goes frothy. It is okay to add the sweetener to the yeast mix but do not add salt directly on top. Salt tends to kill yeast as well. Add oil to the yeast mixture after it's become frothy and the eggs are beaten lightly with a fork. Then, I add the required flour and salt on top of that. You knead the dough until it becomes elastic, I do this in a bread machine or with a dough hook. Put the dough in a lightly greased bowl, cover with a clean towel and leave in a warm place. Warm as in a warm, sunny spot or beside a hot oven, on top of a working dryer, even an oven turned down to its lowest setting (remember too hot and the yeast dies - no rising). If you are going to rise in the oven, you're better off rolling the rolls out first. If you want to have a golden brown top with seeds, use lightly beaten egg, or butter and smear tops after they have risen because they do not rise as much with this on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
I'm a beginner and I did my best to follow the recipe but the dough didn't rise. I wish these instructions were more beginner friendly. How warm (temperature) should the water be? How long should I beat the eggs.. just a little or until they are stiff? When will the dough be twice its size - after it has been sitting on the counter for an hour or do I have to wait the whole night? What is the minimum amount of time it has to be in the fridge? These instructions are lacking in detail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I made these for Sunday dinner. The dough was very sticky! I just rolled them into ball and put them on baking sheet to rise. My family said they tasted like the rolls we get at a restaurant named TEXAS ROADHOUSE. Will make them again. Great with honey butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
These rolls came out in a perfect consistancy; light and fluffy in center with a more crispy shell. I used margarine intead of oil so I omitted the salt. This was a mistake though as my final product tasted lacking of salt. Also, next time I will brush rolls with egg whites before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Ercolini

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
These were a huge hit! I even had someone offer to pay me to make them for her. The only problem I had with these is the dough is extremely sticky and hard to shape as recommended. Might try just making them as plain rolls instead of shaping them. I had to add a TON of flour to get them to do as the recipes suggests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xeracia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Van Buren, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Great recipe, easy to make. The dough is very, very sticky. I used lots of flour to roll them out. These have a slightly sweeter taste to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wannabe Gardener

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuttle, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States