Sunday Chicken Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I used frozen hash browns instead of potatoes. I would reduce the liquid because it came out a little soupy. I also added a bag of frozen stir-fry veggies. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Everyone at dinner tonight loved this recipe. I did substitute the Cream of Mushroom for Cream of Chicken and added a packet of Onion Soup Mix. Leave the salt out of the flour to cut back on a little of the saltiness. It was so tender and my chicken breasts were still slightly frozen and they cooked perfectly in 1 hour and 45 minutes. Potatoes were yummy and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This was very good, we cubed the potatoes but next time I would cut them even a little smaller or bake for a little longer as the potatoes were just barely done at the 2 hour mark. I also added a can of cream of chicken along with the cream of mushroom to make sure there was plenty of sauce, otherwise I think it may have been little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mam5016

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Awesome recipe! Easy to make and really tasty. I used chicken broth instead of water and mixed some black pepper in with the cream of mushroom mixture. I substituted the black pepper with the Cajun seasoning to the flour mixture. Lastly, I used chicken breast tenders instead of full chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I made this for dinner tonight with some variations. I added frozen mixed vegetables to the onion and potatoes (which I sliced like scalloped potatoes) layer, and I used a cup of chicken broth instead of water. I forgot to add the oil, but not so sure it would've mattered. I didn't cover it with tin foil because I realized all to late that we were out, and I cooked it uncovered for one hour at 350 degrees. Also I didn't put any Cajun or chili powder on top because I knew my family would not like that. Instead I sprinkled pepper and garlic powder on top with some butter pats. Overall I think it came out great! Would be a great dish to have on a cold night. Nice and hearty and good comfort food. I would have given it 5 stars but some of the potato slices were still crunchy. The tin foil might've helped but also think it could've used a touch more liquids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
My husband loved this so much he posted about it on facebook....Very minor changes. I used chicken quarters, cream of chicken soup, and chili powder instead of Cajun. Also sprinkled a pack of onion soup mix over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Telford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smorris55
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
This is a yummy dinner, my whole family loves it. I did make some changes because I didn't have exact ingredients. I omitted the onions and used southwest chipotle seasoning instead of cajun. I submitted a picture and the seasoning is obvious ; ). I also agree with other posts on cooking time, I use the suggested 350 degrees but haven't cooked it longer then 1hr 45min and it has always been thoroughly cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
My family loved this dish easy to make, made a few minor change did the potatoes like scalloped, and i use less flour like i read in other reviews. Also added fresh mushrooms. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This recipe was kind of bland. The chicken had no taste, but the potatoes were yummy. I'm going to try this again but i'm gonna make some changes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I have made this as directed - using that "Traci's Adobo Seasoning" instead of Cajun, as suggested by another chef. It was DELISH! Today I am trying it differently. I lined my 7 quart slow cooker with foil, sprayed it with cooking spray, used SIX peeled taters and added a couple drumsticks that I rolled in the flour and slid under the broiler for a few minutes on each side. I just wanted to make more portions and my hubby loves drumsticks. I lined the lid with foil and am cooking on low. I always broil drumsticks for a bit before slow cooking. I find that it helps to keep them from just falling apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Low-Cal Mediterranean Chicken Dinner

This 600-calorie meal includes tangy chicken, salad, and angel food cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States