Sunday Best Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2007
I've made this cake loads, and it always turns out beautifully. I toss a handful of chocolate chips in the batter and on top. I've also crushed up a Terry's Chocolate Orange and stirred that through. very yummy base chocolate cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Sampson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Liskeard, Cornwall, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I made this cake on Christmas Eve so that my grandson, who has dairy allergies, could have something "chocolate" for dessert. He is only five years old, but he managed to eat two huge pieces...one after the other, and took a good amount home with him. Wonderful chocolate cake; we all enjoyed it very much! I almost forgot to mention that this recipe tested "done" for me after being in the oven for only 25 minutes; after cooling, it was perfectly moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Baking is my passion. Mine turned out dry and nothing special in the taste. In thinking back I know I followed the recipe to a T so was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by quiggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delta, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
I found this recipe after searching for one that didn't use butter, shortening, or margarine. It was easy to make and it was delicious!! I added 1 cup of chocolate chips and it turned out well. The only problem was the hot water caused a lot of the chips to melt but it just made the cake more chocolate-y. My husband normally doesn't eat dessert but he had 2 pieces!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
I have made this cake three times, it is the best chocolate cake I have ever had.I baked all three for 24 minutes. My Granddaughter Julia gives this cake a,A+ I give it 5 stars +.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
It is excellent! Especially with grandma's peanut butter frosting. Will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
This cake was yummy! It was even better the next day. We'll definitely be making this again. Thanks for sharing the recipe. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dilley, Texas, USA
Living In: Pearsall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
This recipe is great. I really like the moist and chocolaty taste. My family like it too. I already did this twice. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
This is a really yummy, moist cake. I used it with the "Fudgy Cream Cheese Tunnel Cake" recipe on this site (instead of using a cake mix), and it went perfectly! I'll deffinetly make this again. My boyfried called it "Awesom!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
This is the most delicious chocolate cake I have ever tasted. It is extremely moist and very chocolately. I put it in the freezer immediately after taking it out of the oven and that adds to the moistness. You can't beat this cake, and with chocolate icing you can't just eat one slice. ENJOY, and thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States