Sunday Afternoon Slow-Cooked Spare Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I read the recipe wrong... and thought the SLOW-Cook said SLOW-COOKER so I used the slow cooker. Worked perfectly! I never boil my ribs first as the flavour comes out into the water (thats why you boil vegetables and meat in water to make soup!). I just browned these quickly and threw into the slow-cooker. I made up the sauce as listed PLUS some garlic and poured it in. Turned it on HIGH for 6 hours, but they were perfect after only 4. I am only rating this a 4 because we thought the sauce was a little bland. When I make it again, I will use more brown sugar. My kids thought it was a little plain as well, so I zipped up some honey garlic sauce, coated the ribs and placed in the oven to get all sticky. The base flavour from the original recipe made these just wonderful! (which is what I am rating). The addition of honey garlic sauce to that already base flavour made it a 5 star in our house! Thanks for this recipe! Go ahead and let this cook in your slow cooker all day for a perfect dinner when you get home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Excellent flavor! I used boneless pork ribs and wasn't sure how to adjust the cooking time so mine ended up a bit dry. The juices helped a lot. I boiled them for 40 minutes, pan seared for about 5 minutes each side and then put them into my crockpot on low for 2 1/2 hours. My family, including my kids, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
i'm not one to really go for ribs, but this one is really delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I just tried this recipe today and was very good. I had baby back ribs that I wanted to just cook over stove top so I tried this recipe. I did not boil the ribs; I removed all visible fat, sprinkled chinese five spices then browned them and followed the recipe without the seafood seasoning and nutmeg. After 1 1/2 hours, it was done. Sauce was thick and very good. I will definitely do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Perfect as written. To save time, I broiled ribs to brown. Did skip boiling. Threw in roasting pan with sauce, and followed the suggestion for 2 hrs at 250 degrees, 1 hr at 300 degrees and 45 mins at 350 degrees. Tender and flavorful. My rib officienado gave it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
These are the best spare ribs I have ever had! Everyone loved them, I cant wait until ribs are on sale. I made pretty much as is, except I doubled the recipie and added some extra broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Frazier Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
OMG, did all that this recipe said w/two minor changes; boiled only (didn't brown) and didn't have enough beef stock so added red wine to make up difference. SO DELISH and love how meat just fell off the bones. Would make this every weekend if it could. Hubby and son loved it. Sauce was nice to put over egg noodles too. Must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by copetenn
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This is a 5-star pork rib recipe. I made the sauce exactly w/ no modifications, and followed Staschy's general method for cooking and the ribs fell off the bone in wonderful tenderness when done. Here's how: boiled the ribs in large pot of water 45 minutes. Made sauce exactly in dutch oven. Didn't brown the ribs, just put them directly in with sauce once sauce was made. Put lid on dutch oven, cooked 2 hours covered at 250, 1 hour covered at 300, 45 minutes uncovered at 350. The ribs fell off bone as took them out with tongs, had to use a spatula to support underneath to get the rack on a plate w/o meat falling off further. The sauce is a wonderful, rich, vinegar-based sauce. It was effortless to separate the meat from bone, shredded it, then plunged eat bite into the sauce before eating. My 9-y.o. daughter said she could literally eat this dish every meal for the rest of her life. :-) I would pay good money at a restaurant for ribs this delicious, tender and tasty. Make them this way and you'll say the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by copetenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I used country spare ribs, wonderful recipe.I served it with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom O'Driscoll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bensalem, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Flavor was good, not overpowering at all. Spareribs were pretty tender, too. Husband really liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliekk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States