Sunday Afternoon Slow-Cooked Spare Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I put the ribs in the pot to boil frozen and then started timing the boiling, so they didn't boil a full hour. I also added a little red wine to the sauce. I did everything else exactly as directed. I had never cooked ribs before. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Never again in a slow cooker....too greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Meh. I got excited about this recipe, given all the rave reviews. And I did boil it first, but I think that gave it a funny smell that simmering in sauce didn't completely get rid of. My quest for delicious, yet not completely artery-clogging, ribs continues . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I used beef spare ribs; 1/2 veg broth and 1/2 red wine, and no seafood seasoning. Instead of minced onion I cut up onion rings and added that. I only browned, not boiled the ribs. It took only 3 hours in slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I used the recipe for just the sauce, nice flavor, a little too much Worcestershire sauce (I would use half that amount) and a little too sweet. The nutmeg was fine. I added 2 Tablespoons of cornstarch to make it thicker. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Outstanding!!!! Only deviation was didn't boil ribs and used apple cider vinegar. Can't wait to make for my entire gang. Totally worth the effort. Did the 2 hrs. at 250, 1 hr. at 300 and 45 min. at 350. Perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I had these for dinner last night and the family rated it a 5 star, so did I. Very good blend of flavors. I didn't boil before browning. They turned out very tender. These are excellent! Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I had a 1/2 rack of baby back ribs in my freezer. I was looking for a different way to make them and came across this. It is very good! Next time I'm going to try it with spare ribs or St. Louis ribs. I didn't boil the ribs, just browned them. I minced a small onion instead of the dried onion. The ingredient list looks odd but it all comes together very deliciously! I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I read the recipe wrong... and thought the SLOW-Cook said SLOW-COOKER so I used the slow cooker. Worked perfectly! I never boil my ribs first as the flavour comes out into the water (thats why you boil vegetables and meat in water to make soup!). I just browned these quickly and threw into the slow-cooker. I made up the sauce as listed PLUS some garlic and poured it in. Turned it on HIGH for 6 hours, but they were perfect after only 4. I am only rating this a 4 because we thought the sauce was a little bland. When I make it again, I will use more brown sugar. My kids thought it was a little plain as well, so I zipped up some honey garlic sauce, coated the ribs and placed in the oven to get all sticky. The base flavour from the original recipe made these just wonderful! (which is what I am rating). The addition of honey garlic sauce to that already base flavour made it a 5 star in our house! Thanks for this recipe! Go ahead and let this cook in your slow cooker all day for a perfect dinner when you get home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Excellent flavor! I used boneless pork ribs and wasn't sure how to adjust the cooking time so mine ended up a bit dry. The juices helped a lot. I boiled them for 40 minutes, pan seared for about 5 minutes each side and then put them into my crockpot on low for 2 1/2 hours. My family, including my kids, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States