Sun-dried Tomatoes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
HOW TO STORE: put the dried tomatoes in jars and then fill up with olive oil just to cover. This is where you can get creative and use infused oil or put some garlic cloves, basil, capers, rosemary etc in with them if you wish. I've seen other recipes that say to store them for a couple weeks before using. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
421 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Commercially packed sun-dried tomatoes in oil (or olives in oil) should keep indefinitely, as long as you use clean utensils to fish them out of the jar. Home-made dried tomatoes should never be packed in olive oil, as the exclusion of air from the environment makes a perfect situation for the growth of Clostridium botulinum. (This is true for almost anything home-made packed in oil - and also why home-made garlic oil or herb oils are not recommended for storage past a week or so.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
319 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amypetersn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgewood, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I work on a small organic farm and take home bushels of unsold tomatoes in the summer. I have been using this recipe on a weekly basis and actually sell them at markets. Customers go wild! Pack them in old minced garlic jars with a sprig of basil or a clove of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
268 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
HOW TO STORE: I put mine in a good zip lock freezer bag or if I have a lot I vacuum pack them and freeze. When I need them I just pull out what I need. If they are used in rice or coucous I put them in with the rice and boiling water. To use on pizzas I pull them out of the freezer, put in a small cup and put a little bit of olive oil on them for 15 mins. or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candie Janes Wiser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
Make sure you don't do what I did & NOT use a non-stick pan, either that or lightly oil the pan prior to baking... took all day & WOWSA, so delish. Other than the scraping off of the pan, they turned out wonderful. So much flavor in one little strip, they pack punch & will make beautiful gifts come this Christmas! (tis' amazing how you can fit 5 huge tomatoes in one, little 6oz jar!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWifey/Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I got great results with a combination of Roma and smaller, 8 oz. round tomatoes. My cookie sheets don't have a non-stick coating, so I used parchment paper which worked well. Smaller pieces were dried after 4 hours and larger pieces were done by 7.5 hours. Be sure to check on these every 30-45 min. towards the end and remove them when they are still leather-like and pliable. If they lose their deep red color and get crispy, they have dried too long. I plan to freeze the extras: some just as they are and others in a plastic zip bag with a small amount of olive oil to use later. Be sure to use only good tomatoes...I tried drying some that were past their prime (a little mushy inside) and they were not worth keeping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
This worked great! I used just the tomatos and cooking spray and cooked them for about 7 hours. They are awesome and great on salads!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
this worked really good, i did them in small batches and put them in pretty jars for my mom and grandma for mothers day, they loved them! before i put them in the oven i drizzled them with olive oil and lots of kosher salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashburn_star

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blaine, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
I'd love to use this recipe but am wondering how long these will last in the 'frige or if anyone has any other ideas. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
These are great! I used roma tomatoes and we were all eating these right off the pan. I sprinkled some basil over one batch before drying them and that gave them a nice flavor, but they're great plain, too. I'll definitely be planting more roma plants next year to make more of these treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

Smoked Sausage Gnocchi with Sun-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make easy gnocchi with savory smoked sausage.

How to Make Oven-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make flavorful dried plum tomatoes in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States