Sun-dried Tomatoes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
YYYAAAA I Finally succeeded in making this recipe:) I actually made this while I was baking a brisket. I used the bottom shelf and on a 300 degree oven to boot! They turned out perfect and I too packed them in EVOO. So tasty on just about anything you could think of to put them on! Pizza,salad,sammie. Thanks Kellie. I will make these again and again and save myself a boat load of $$. Yippee:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Very good and so easy! I used my dehydrator and dried a variety of tomatoes: cherry tomatoes, roma tomatoes, and beefsteak tomatoes. the cherry tomatoes took the least amount of time, which makes sense since they are the smallest. If you do beefsteak tomatoes, cut into slices or the larger pieces will mold (learn from my mistake!). I broke these out for a salad this week and softened them in water in the fridge and they are wonderful. thanks for the recipe! This will definitely come in handy when bf decides to buy that case of tomatoes at the farmer's market!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Actually, these are oven-dried tomatoes. Since I don't have a non-stick pan, I coat my pan with olive oil. And put in a jar with olive oil and herbs (rosemary, oregano, red pepper flakes, etc.) they are delicious and last up to a month. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Best kept secret I've found in a long time! Will makes these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
These were awesome! Took about 9 hours. I did increase temp to 300 degrees for about an hour. I also poured out some of the juice that accumulates when they are baking. I used mine on homemade pizza!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gregoryz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Painesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Ok, so I had HUGE tomatoes from the garden and cut them into about 6 pieces each. I turned these on at 11 am and at 11 pm most of them still were not done. I turned the oven off and just left them there over night. Woke up in the morning and they were pretty perfect. I put them in 2 small glass (mushroom) jars and added a fresh basil leaf in each jar. Topped them off with some EVOO. Next time I will try with much smaller tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Really tasty but takes a very long time. I gave up after about 10-12 hours and stuck the tomatoes in the fridge to finish drying the next day. I think next time I'll quarter the toamtoes to have them dry a bit faster. The flavor was fabulous.. much stronger than the store bought ones.. yumyum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I used Roma tomatoes and lined a regular baking sheet with parchment paper. Turned out fantastic. Can't wait to try this in the summer with garden fresh tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyfuljoyous
Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
HOW TO STORE: I put mine in a good zip lock freezer bag or if I have a lot I vacuum pack them and freeze. When I need them I just pull out what I need. If they are used in rice or coucous I put them in with the rice and boiling water. To use on pizzas I pull them out of the freezer, put in a small cup and put a little bit of olive oil on them for 15 mins. or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candie Janes Wiser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

Smoked Sausage Gnocchi with Sun-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make easy gnocchi with savory smoked sausage.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States