Sun-dried Tomatoes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Amazing way to use up all those tomatoes- took mine about 14 hours. They do shrink quite a bit. Used an old minced garlic jar with olive oil, clove of garlice, and basil to store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Love this recipe! I wish I found this years ago because its a perfect solution to all the tomatoes we get from our garden and sun dried tomatoes can be expensive at the market. I made this on the weekend and used half of them yesterday in a pasta/shrimp recipe. WOW! Delicious and perfect. I stored them in olive oil in a canning jar in my fridge. Next time I'm going to try to put in freezer bags and freeze them. Thank you for such a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I recently made these and they turned out really good. I used Roma tomatoes and kosher salt. Cut into strips and cooked about 5 hours. Stored in a garlic infused olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 23DAISYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I made this with orange tomatoes on my pizza stone and they turned out fine. I spread them out like a butterfly and the thinner parts turned a little too dark, but the thicker parts of the tomato were great. I don't know if I should've kept them folded in half or spread them out or not, it was my first attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B.B.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Very good. Make sure to keep an eye on them near the end, though, because they can go from not-quite-done to burned very quickly. Some of my smaller pieces burned during the seventh hour I had them in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I did this with both Roma tomatoes and lg. cherry tomatoes. Much to my surprise the cherry tomatoes were better - much more flavor. This is a geat way to use all those 1000's of extra cherry tom. I think I'll freeze them to make sure they last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fergie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Butte Des Morts, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Can't get much more easier than this and a great money saver. I lined baking sheets with parchment paper and used cherry tomatoes for my first batch. After about 5 hours at 200 degrees, they were done. Beautiful color, still a bit supple with that lovely leathery texture. Thanks for the fantastic recipe, Kellie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixie'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
YYYAAAA I Finally succeeded in making this recipe:) I actually made this while I was baking a brisket. I used the bottom shelf and on a 300 degree oven to boot! They turned out perfect and I too packed them in EVOO. So tasty on just about anything you could think of to put them on! Pizza,salad,sammie. Thanks Kellie. I will make these again and again and save myself a boat load of $$. Yippee:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Very good and so easy! I used my dehydrator and dried a variety of tomatoes: cherry tomatoes, roma tomatoes, and beefsteak tomatoes. the cherry tomatoes took the least amount of time, which makes sense since they are the smallest. If you do beefsteak tomatoes, cut into slices or the larger pieces will mold (learn from my mistake!). I broke these out for a salad this week and softened them in water in the fridge and they are wonderful. thanks for the recipe! This will definitely come in handy when bf decides to buy that case of tomatoes at the farmer's market!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Actually, these are oven-dried tomatoes. Since I don't have a non-stick pan, I coat my pan with olive oil. And put in a jar with olive oil and herbs (rosemary, oregano, red pepper flakes, etc.) they are delicious and last up to a month. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States