Sun-dried Tomatoes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
So good! Most sun-dried tomatoes are soaked in oil, but I was looking for a more low-fat recipe. I diced them, brushed them with olive oil, and sprinkled with Italian seasoning and black pepper. Yummy. Here's one thing that you can do with them: take your favorite bread/roll dough, roll out in a rectangle like you would with cinnamon rolls, then brush with a little olive oil or melted butter. Sprinkle 3/4 cup of these on and maybe some grated Parmesan, and roll up, jellyroll style. Cut with dental floss. Place in a baking pan, sprinkle with Parmesan, and cook at 350 for 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Easy and oh so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Amazing way to use up all those tomatoes- took mine about 14 hours. They do shrink quite a bit. Used an old minced garlic jar with olive oil, clove of garlice, and basil to store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Love this recipe! I wish I found this years ago because its a perfect solution to all the tomatoes we get from our garden and sun dried tomatoes can be expensive at the market. I made this on the weekend and used half of them yesterday in a pasta/shrimp recipe. WOW! Delicious and perfect. I stored them in olive oil in a canning jar in my fridge. Next time I'm going to try to put in freezer bags and freeze them. Thank you for such a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I recently made these and they turned out really good. I used Roma tomatoes and kosher salt. Cut into strips and cooked about 5 hours. Stored in a garlic infused olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 23DAISYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I made this with orange tomatoes on my pizza stone and they turned out fine. I spread them out like a butterfly and the thinner parts turned a little too dark, but the thicker parts of the tomato were great. I don't know if I should've kept them folded in half or spread them out or not, it was my first attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B.B.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Very good. Make sure to keep an eye on them near the end, though, because they can go from not-quite-done to burned very quickly. Some of my smaller pieces burned during the seventh hour I had them in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I did this with both Roma tomatoes and lg. cherry tomatoes. Much to my surprise the cherry tomatoes were better - much more flavor. This is a geat way to use all those 1000's of extra cherry tom. I think I'll freeze them to make sure they last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fergie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Butte Des Morts, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Can't get much more easier than this and a great money saver. I lined baking sheets with parchment paper and used cherry tomatoes for my first batch. After about 5 hours at 200 degrees, they were done. Beautiful color, still a bit supple with that lovely leathery texture. Thanks for the fantastic recipe, Kellie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixie'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
YYYAAAA I Finally succeeded in making this recipe:) I actually made this while I was baking a brisket. I used the bottom shelf and on a 300 degree oven to boot! They turned out perfect and I too packed them in EVOO. So tasty on just about anything you could think of to put them on! Pizza,salad,sammie. Thanks Kellie. I will make these again and again and save myself a boat load of $$. Yippee:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

Smoked Sausage Gnocchi with Sun-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make easy gnocchi with savory smoked sausage.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States