Sun-dried Tomatoes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
We ended up with cases of roma tomatoes from our food bank. I cut them thick--about 3/4" -- sprinkle with sea salt, cracked pepper, basil and oregano and put them on my racks in my cabinet smoker. I turn the propane on to about 200 and wait about 12 hours checking on them from time to time. While still pliable, I bag them and freeze them. Fantastic! Especially in my chili and pasta dishes. The seasoning gives these babies intense flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
After 7 hours they were still moist. Had to go to bed so cut them up and put in fridge. In the AM drained and they are cooking again. Getting there but not yet. They did not have many seeds so did not drain. Taste is great but not sure of cooking method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
For everyone wondering about storage: I've been drying tomatoes (in a food dryer) for years. I bag them in ziplock bags (suck all the air out with a straw) and pop them in the freezer. We don't normally dehydrate with oil for health reasons, but I have done so in the past and that works fine. We use the tomatoes on homemade pizzas without any rehydration at all, and they taste great, as they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
How are these tomatoes stored, without packing them in oil?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I dry tomates in an inexpensive food dehydrator and it works great. I have a recipe for sundried tomato basil bread and my dried tomatoes work perfectly. Sun dried tomateos are also tasty snacks sprinkled with just a bit of olive oil. The tomato flavor becomes very concentraed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
for those wondering how to store these check this site: http://homecooking.about.com/od/foodstorage/a/sundrytomstore.htm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Commercially packed sun-dried tomatoes in oil (or olives in oil) should keep indefinitely, as long as you use clean utensils to fish them out of the jar. Home-made dried tomatoes should never be packed in olive oil, as the exclusion of air from the environment makes a perfect situation for the growth of Clostridium botulinum. (This is true for almost anything home-made packed in oil - and also why home-made garlic oil or herb oils are not recommended for storage past a week or so.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
340 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amypetersn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgewood, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
these sound great! going to try them this summer with all the extra tomatoes i'm going to have. my question is, (besides freezing) when storing these in olive oil and garlic, basil, etc. how long do they last in the fridge? some say let them sit a couple weeks in the fridge, but how long do they last after that? thanks in advance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tammie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Wow, I never thought I could make my own sun dried tomatoes! I just finished a test batch of cherry tomatoes and they we're amazing! I'm storing them in a jar of good olive oil and can't wait to use them with dinner tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I am so pleased with how this recipe turned out! Gone are my days of spending way too much money for store bought sun dried tomatoes. These are very flavorful and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarcieA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

Smoked Sausage Gnocchi with Sun-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make easy gnocchi with savory smoked sausage.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States