Sun-dried Tomatoes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
How are these tomatoes stored, without packing them in oil?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I dry tomates in an inexpensive food dehydrator and it works great. I have a recipe for sundried tomato basil bread and my dried tomatoes work perfectly. Sun dried tomateos are also tasty snacks sprinkled with just a bit of olive oil. The tomato flavor becomes very concentraed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
for those wondering how to store these check this site: http://homecooking.about.com/od/foodstorage/a/sundrytomstore.htm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Commercially packed sun-dried tomatoes in oil (or olives in oil) should keep indefinitely, as long as you use clean utensils to fish them out of the jar. Home-made dried tomatoes should never be packed in olive oil, as the exclusion of air from the environment makes a perfect situation for the growth of Clostridium botulinum. (This is true for almost anything home-made packed in oil - and also why home-made garlic oil or herb oils are not recommended for storage past a week or so.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
270 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amypetersn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgewood, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
these sound great! going to try them this summer with all the extra tomatoes i'm going to have. my question is, (besides freezing) when storing these in olive oil and garlic, basil, etc. how long do they last in the fridge? some say let them sit a couple weeks in the fridge, but how long do they last after that? thanks in advance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tammie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Wow, I never thought I could make my own sun dried tomatoes! I just finished a test batch of cherry tomatoes and they we're amazing! I'm storing them in a jar of good olive oil and can't wait to use them with dinner tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I am so pleased with how this recipe turned out! Gone are my days of spending way too much money for store bought sun dried tomatoes. These are very flavorful and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarcieA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I've been doing this for awhile...cherry, grape or mini roma tomatoes work best. Put parchment paper on the cookie sheets. Easy clean up! I put the finished product in freezer bags & freeze. Keeps well all winter +! Great on pizza, home made soups, omelets, etc. The flavor is intense without the calories of the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
So good! Most sun-dried tomatoes are soaked in oil, but I was looking for a more low-fat recipe. I diced them, brushed them with olive oil, and sprinkled with Italian seasoning and black pepper. Yummy. Here's one thing that you can do with them: take your favorite bread/roll dough, roll out in a rectangle like you would with cinnamon rolls, then brush with a little olive oil or melted butter. Sprinkle 3/4 cup of these on and maybe some grated Parmesan, and roll up, jellyroll style. Cut with dental floss. Place in a baking pan, sprinkle with Parmesan, and cook at 350 for 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Easy and oh so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

How to Make Oven-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make flavorful dried plum tomatoes in the oven.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States