Sun-dried Tomatoes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Came out wonderful. I sliced my tomatoes into small strips and they only took about 2 hours in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mam5016

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This worked really well. I used cherry tomatoes, and sprinkled them with a little bit of garlic powder and basil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Ohmygosh!! I was worried about how to store these, but that's not going to be a problem because my family gobbles them up as fast as I can make them. And yes, it's pretty slow. First batch with smaller tomatoes took about 7 hours. Second batch using bigger heirloom tomatoes (cut into half-Roma sized pieces) took about 11 hours. Amazing taste. No need to even add salt. Cooking on parchment paper was a great tip too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
YUM! i have wanted to make sun-dried tomatoes for SO LONG but wasn't quite sure how to do it. I read alot of the review, thanks every one for tips and ideas. Basically i used all dif. types of tomatoes, didn't seed em, i'm too lazy, and let em go for a LONGGGG time. the bigger pieces cooked most of yesterday and are back in today. i like that you can take them out to use your oven for other things, then put em back in when you have the time. the taste is TRULY a rich deep intensity, JUST what i wanted without spending $5.00 on a tiny bag, esp. when you have them growing out of your ears in the summer garden! In the middle of winter i'll pull them out for a 'special' topping on my pizza, for a tiny taste of summer! THANK YOU for the easy recipe!!! You cannot do this wrong! It's failproof!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earth_girl
Home Town: Palmyra, New York, USA
Living In: Greece, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
These are GREAT! I dried them for about 36 hours in the dehydrator and then pack them in olive oil and chopped garlic cloves- very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I made these with Grape Tomatoes - Yummy & Sweet! Did @ 200 in convection for about 3 hours. Perfect! And a good, time saving tip is to put several on the cutting board and hold steady with your hand or something flat - like a tupperware lid - and slice in half sideways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I had an abundance of cherry tomatoes and this recipe worked great. I used a melon baller to scrape out the seeds after cutting them in half. It took about 5 hours in the oven for the smaller pieces. This was a great option to save some tomatoes before they went bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I never made sun dried tomatoes and probably only tasted them a couple of times in my life. I used some smaller roma style tomatoes. I had them in the oven about 6 hours and they seemed way to dry! Most were as "crisp as chips." I found out that a smaller tomato is not best for this and that romas were a drier tomato. Use a good plump tomato and this recipe should work good. Don't assume it will take all day! Check them after 4 hours or so and about every hour. I am currently rehydrating them in some boiling water to see which ones are salvageable. The recipe does not say how to store them, if in the fridge than how? Do I put them in a bag or in a jar with olive oil with or without seasonings. It also does not suggest on how to rehydrate them for future recipes or if that is even neccessary. I also wish I knew what to look for so that they didn't get so hard and dry, which is the most important thing. The directions just said this could take all day so I didn't bother them. I will probably store them in olive oil in the fridge now that I am in the process of having to rehydrate. I may try them again with a more plump tomato, check on them to make sure the center stays softer, and then store in the freezer as suggested by others. I really wished this would have worked perfectly. Maybe, I just needed more detailed instructions my first time. It would have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
We ended up with cases of roma tomatoes from our food bank. I cut them thick--about 3/4" -- sprinkle with sea salt, cracked pepper, basil and oregano and put them on my racks in my cabinet smoker. I turn the propane on to about 200 and wait about 12 hours checking on them from time to time. While still pliable, I bag them and freeze them. Fantastic! Especially in my chili and pasta dishes. The seasoning gives these babies intense flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
After 7 hours they were still moist. Had to go to bed so cut them up and put in fridge. In the AM drained and they are cooking again. Getting there but not yet. They did not have many seeds so did not drain. Taste is great but not sure of cooking method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

How to Make Oven-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make flavorful dried plum tomatoes in the oven.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States