Sun-dried Tomatoes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
So easy and it was kind of fun to make. I'm not sure if my family will except these funny looking tomatoes but if not I guess I'll eat them myself! I added salt & pepper and Herbs DeProvence; I upped my temp to 225 to help dry faster. I probably should have left them in longer, I only had them in for 5 1/2 hours. They looked done to me but after looking at some others pics I can tell mine had a little plumpness still to them. I let them cool and then put in a jar with some garlic slices, basil and Olive Oil. Placed in the refrigerator. TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I found these very easy to make, and very tasty. I had 3 roma tomatoes from our garden and a handful of leftover grape tomatoes. This yielded about 1/4 cup sun drieds. I cut the grape tomatoes in half, and cut the romas so that the pieces were about the same size for even baking. My cooking time was approximately 3-3.5 hrs. I do not have a non stick pan so I sprayed my pan with an olive oil cooking spray. I placed the tomatoes skin side down; not sure if that made any impact but I read several recipes on other sites that suggested this. I am so happy with the final product. They are a pretty dark red color, and even taste great plain! Can't wait to try them with pasta. I am thinking they might be good in small jelly jars as Christmas gifts. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
It works! I have used quartered tomatoes and have tried cherry tomatoes cut in half. I had so many cherry tomatoes and I didn't want them to go to waste so I thought "why not"....much faster process and you can get more in the jar since they are so small. I made these last year too, packed them in a jar and added olive oil to cover. Ate them throughout the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cawael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Byron, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I used four larger tomatoes, cut them in quarters, salted them and baked them. I didn't seed them. In a 200F oven, they took almost 20 hours. What did I do wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
LOVE!!!!!!! we have romas, romaas, and more romas,,,,,, i was VERY glad to find this recipe and have made MANY batches,,, will be planting romas again next year,,, looking forward to this winter when i have them on hand and not spending so many $$$ for my cravings..... love on pizza and in pasta salads,, but found myself munching on them when they came out of the oven.... so yummy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Henkel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I will make this recipe I just want to thank Allrecipes.com all the recipes I downloaded and tried turned out Awesome thank you, even my fussy eater husband likes the recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Amazing! i love putting them in my pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
thanks for sharing. I sliced mine so they would dry faster why baking. It took about 4 hours :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHENA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
So sad that I have waited almost 35 years to try this!!!! The first batch never made it out of the oven, they were "tasted" to death. These little gems are great on everything! Eggs, roasted veggies, cheese, pesto...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

Smoked Sausage Gnocchi with Sun-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make easy gnocchi with savory smoked sausage.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States