Sun-dried Tomatoes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Have used this recipe several times over the past few years. From reading the reviews, the bake times vary quite a bit. I think it's many factors. Size of tomatoes, how well you cleaned out the pulp, how small you cut them, how many are in the oven at a time (lots of humidity builds up), convection or not. When I have a busy schedule, I do these overnight. Set the alarm for once or twice in the night and they are usually ready by the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I dry my own tomatoes in a dehydrator and have experimented with seasoning prior to drying: all were bad ideas. The water goes out and the seasonings all get too intense. So: NO SALT. After drying, I store in the freezer in Ziploc bags. To rehydrate: soak in stock of any kind (even beef bouillon), or white wine, or oils of any type (including grape seed oil) or in cider or balsamic vinegar. Get creative! Yes, this is the time to add all the seasonings. Or, instead of reconstituting prior to cooking, just chop up and toss into omelets or frittatas or whatever you're making. Such wonderfully intense tomato flavor without all the runny juices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Note: I find Plum tomatoes are best for drying, but any will do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
these come out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2013
These are fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
So easy and convenient for adding your own desired flavors. Love this recipe! Saves lots of $ because buying sun-dried tomatoes can really add up on your grocery bill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoloBear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Excellent Although I picked 500 cherry tomatoes for this recipe and iit reduced down to 2 small ziplock bags, I don't regret it. The end results were excellent. Easy to do as we'll. as others have stated, make sure the tomatoes are removed from the oven whole still somewhat leathery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharlieBrown

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort St. John, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
So very easy and so much less expensive than buying sun-dried tomatoes -- as long as you have the time. I only had a few hours so I sliced my tomatoes thin. They we almost perfect after about 3 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Photo by Hanny Manny
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I cut the tomatoes in smaller pieces because it takes too long in the oven when they are just halved. Sprinkled them with salt and pepper. They turned out awesome! They freeze well, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

Smoked Sausage Gnocchi with Sun-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make easy gnocchi with savory smoked sausage.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States