Sun-Dried Tomato, Feta and Pine Nut Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I didn't make the croutons because I generally don't like them, and I also added some grilled chicken rubbed with oregano and Mrs. Dash garlic and herb seasoning. I made a dressing recipe found on this site called "Absolutely Fabulous Greek/House Dressing" as well. The whole thing together was AWESOME, just the perfect combo of flavors, perfect texture. A perfect go-to healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Excellent salad. Everyone just loved eat. Even guest who doesn't usually eat greens asked for extra portion. I used sliced almonds instead of pine nuts and skipped feta. I also used arugula instead of mixed salad greens. My tomatoes were preserved in oil hence I didn't have soak them. I also find they have more flavor than dry ones. I didn't add any oil or salt - served them by side. Some people used oil, some (including me) preferred plain salad. And no one needed salt - the croutons came out rather salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kinoida

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I cheated and added store bought croutons and used slivered almonds instead of pine nuts. This was a fabulous salad. Also added a balsamic vinaigrette. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zimmerle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mason City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I made this using my own croutons that I had stashed in the freezer, and well drained, oil packed sun dried tomatoes. I used an Italian dressing, but only because we’ve had balsamic dressing a lot lately. This was good and we enjoyed it with Happy Shrimp, also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This was simply incredible and the best salad that I have ever tasted! I halved the recipe and it was enough for five of us with some left-overs. I also used crumbled goat cheese instead of the feta for personal preference. The left-overs didn't last long. My father and I attacked it for breakfast the next morning! The only thing that I wil do differently next time, is that I will add the croutons to each salad individually. This was so delicious that I will make the full amount next time to increase the left-over size and the croutons get soggy when stored in the salad. The presentation won't be as nice, but the taste is to die for! Thank you so much for this recipe. I don't usually care for croutons in my salad, but I loved these. This may very well be my favorite AR recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This is seriously such a simple and tasty salad. I served it alongside Basil Feta Bruschetta and Puttanesca. The flavors all went together so perfectly. I topped the salad with some oil, vinegar, and a tiny bit of salt. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inskydiamonds

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
We loved this salad! The flavors were fantastic and with balsamic vinaigrette, yummy! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bekah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Made this for the first time this past Saturday. It was wonderful and also a very pretty salad. It got great reviews from the adults in the crowd. We have a family pizza night once a month with friends and although the pizza is a great thing and the kids gobble it up, I am always looking for new and different salads to serve that will wow the adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANTMARY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This salad is delicious! I bought the croutons and used Romaine lettuce. My dressing is real simple and was perfect for this salad. Mix balsamic vinegar with olive oil in a bowl and taste before adding to salad.The Feta cheese should be soaked in cold water for about 20 minutes. I learned this from a Turkish friend.This salad is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Took others advice and added grilled chicken. I marinated it in olive oil vinagrette salad dressing for four hours first. Saved time and used store bought croutons. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centerville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mohnton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Pasta Salad with Avocado, Tomato, & Mozzarella

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States