Sun-Dried Tomato, Feta and Pine Nut Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
Beautiful salad. As a timesaver, I just used store bought croutons and skipped the whole first part of the recipe. The colors were spectacular and I could see this ending up on a holiday buffet because of the gorgeous green/vibrant red color of the salad. Used a bag of romaine salad. Topped it off with a nice balsamic vinegarette. Husband said it had become one of his favorite salads because he loved all the different flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This salad is delicious! I bought the croutons and used Romaine lettuce. My dressing is real simple and was perfect for this salad. Mix balsamic vinegar with olive oil in a bowl and taste before adding to salad.The Feta cheese should be soaked in cold water for about 20 minutes. I learned this from a Turkish friend.This salad is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
This was my contribution to Christmas Eve dinner, and was well-received. My husband is requesting it today again **!!!**. Very good, will top with broiled chicken breast cut in strips this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hampton, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
This salad was so good. I was too tired to make my own crutons, so I just used boxed. I only had the sun-dried tomatoes in oil and those worked fine. I made my own balsamic vinegrette with a flavored olive oil. I will make this salad again. Maybe next time I will add some chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
This recipe went over very well at a recent party. Everyone has been asking me for the recipe and several of us have made it again. It will become a staple in our house! It is a little on the expensive side when you buy all of the ingredients, but it was well worth the extra cost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
LOVED IT!!!!!! I like that it doesnt need any dressing. I roasted my pine nuts with a little olive oil and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEIDI4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fillmore, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Fabulous salad. I admit I have never appreciated croutons. . . until now. I think making your own croutons is totally worth the effort (what effort? 5-10 minutes is all it takes). They are great, the salad is great. I do not brown nuts under the broiler after catching some pecans on fire using that method a few years back. Instead, I toast them on the stovetop in a pan without oil, over medium heat. That way I can watch them more carefully, turn them easier, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Took others advice and added grilled chicken. I marinated it in olive oil vinagrette salad dressing for four hours first. Saved time and used store bought croutons. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centerville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mohnton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Made this for the first time this past Saturday. It was wonderful and also a very pretty salad. It got great reviews from the adults in the crowd. We have a family pizza night once a month with friends and although the pizza is a great thing and the kids gobble it up, I am always looking for new and different salads to serve that will wow the adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANTMARY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
We loved this salad! The flavors were fantastic and with balsamic vinaigrette, yummy! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bekah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States