Sun-Dried Tomato, Feta and Pine Nut Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Fabulous salad. I admit I have never appreciated croutons. . . until now. I think making your own croutons is totally worth the effort (what effort? 5-10 minutes is all it takes). They are great, the salad is great. I do not brown nuts under the broiler after catching some pecans on fire using that method a few years back. Instead, I toast them on the stovetop in a pan without oil, over medium heat. That way I can watch them more carefully, turn them easier, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
LOVED IT!!!!!! I like that it doesnt need any dressing. I roasted my pine nuts with a little olive oil and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEIDI4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fillmore, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Used chard instead of lettuce and it tasted ok. I also used sun dried tomatoes packed in oil as that is all I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
Great salad! I used sun dried tomatoes that were packed in oil and drained them well. The extra flavor from the oil complemented the salad nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
This recipe went over very well at a recent party. Everyone has been asking me for the recipe and several of us have made it again. It will become a staple in our house! It is a little on the expensive side when you buy all of the ingredients, but it was well worth the extra cost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
Good but a lot of work if you make the croutons yourself. The only thing I would change next time is use a different dressing since the family was not too thrilled with the balsamic vinaigrette (just our taste) Presentation was really nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
This salad was so good. I was too tired to make my own crutons, so I just used boxed. I only had the sun-dried tomatoes in oil and those worked fine. I made my own balsamic vinegrette with a flavored olive oil. I will make this salad again. Maybe next time I will add some chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
This was a great salad even though I used romaine. My sun-dried tomatos weren't getting soft enough so I put them in 2 cups water and microwaved them for a minute - that worked great. I put the pine nuts in the toaster oven and toasted 2 times on light - easier than broiler, didn't have to keep an eye on them. I'd definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
This was my contribution to Christmas Eve dinner, and was well-received. My husband is requesting it today again **!!!**. Very good, will top with broiled chicken breast cut in strips this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hampton, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
Beautiful salad. As a timesaver, I just used store bought croutons and skipped the whole first part of the recipe. The colors were spectacular and I could see this ending up on a holiday buffet because of the gorgeous green/vibrant red color of the salad. Used a bag of romaine salad. Topped it off with a nice balsamic vinegarette. Husband said it had become one of his favorite salads because he loved all the different flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States