Sun-Dried Tomato, Feta and Pine Nut Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Fabulous salad. I admit I have never appreciated croutons. . . until now. I think making your own croutons is totally worth the effort (what effort? 5-10 minutes is all it takes). They are great, the salad is great. I do not brown nuts under the broiler after catching some pecans on fire using that method a few years back. Instead, I toast them on the stovetop in a pan without oil, over medium heat. That way I can watch them more carefully, turn them easier, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
LOVED IT!!!!!! I like that it doesnt need any dressing. I roasted my pine nuts with a little olive oil and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEIDI4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fillmore, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Used chard instead of lettuce and it tasted ok. I also used sun dried tomatoes packed in oil as that is all I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
Great salad! I used sun dried tomatoes that were packed in oil and drained them well. The extra flavor from the oil complemented the salad nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
This recipe went over very well at a recent party. Everyone has been asking me for the recipe and several of us have made it again. It will become a staple in our house! It is a little on the expensive side when you buy all of the ingredients, but it was well worth the extra cost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
Good but a lot of work if you make the croutons yourself. The only thing I would change next time is use a different dressing since the family was not too thrilled with the balsamic vinaigrette (just our taste) Presentation was really nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
This salad was so good. I was too tired to make my own crutons, so I just used boxed. I only had the sun-dried tomatoes in oil and those worked fine. I made my own balsamic vinegrette with a flavored olive oil. I will make this salad again. Maybe next time I will add some chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
This was a great salad even though I used romaine. My sun-dried tomatos weren't getting soft enough so I put them in 2 cups water and microwaved them for a minute - that worked great. I put the pine nuts in the toaster oven and toasted 2 times on light - easier than broiler, didn't have to keep an eye on them. I'd definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
This was my contribution to Christmas Eve dinner, and was well-received. My husband is requesting it today again **!!!**. Very good, will top with broiled chicken breast cut in strips this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hampton, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
Beautiful salad. As a timesaver, I just used store bought croutons and skipped the whole first part of the recipe. The colors were spectacular and I could see this ending up on a holiday buffet because of the gorgeous green/vibrant red color of the salad. Used a bag of romaine salad. Topped it off with a nice balsamic vinegarette. Husband said it had become one of his favorite salads because he loved all the different flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States