Sun-Dried Tomato and Pesto Cheese Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
Even though I cut this recipe in half, it still made a ton of cheese spread. I should have made only a quarter of it. I used store bought pesto instead of making it fresh to save some money, but the premade stuff did not have the right green color and didn't look all that appetizing. I found it difficult to spread into layers and if I make it again I will follow others suggestions to just do it in three layers. I found the spread to be quite tasty and my guests loved it. Worth making for holiday parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Highland Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Unlike others, I did not enjoy making this recipe, also find it expensive. It was tedious. I followed the directions exactly, although halving it, and I just did not find it tastey enough to go through all of the trouble again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: White Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Very tasty and lovely creation. I had to give this 4 *'s due to its richness. I had my qualms when reading the nearly pound and a half of cream cheese and over a third of a pound of butter. However, the reviews below won me over, and I made it per the instructions. It was indeed enjoyed by myself & my guests. However, it made so much for how much a person could actually eat of it. And I had 20 hungry people! I think a person could cut the amount of cream cheese/butter mixture in half and use light cream cheese to make this more of a snack food of which people could go back for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKOFTHEHOUSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I made this for a holiday party with great success. The colors are perfect for Christmas. By mistake, I didn't duplicate the layers and actually liked how it came out as you have a greater concentration of the colors. Have already had requests for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
I made this recipe for my Christmas Party - I followed the instructions exactly - it was a hit! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
Although I did not get to try this myself, everyone raved about it at my party. I served it with an assortment of crackers and people kept asking me for the recipe. It's a nice mix of flavors. To save time and energy, I didn't do multiple layers of each thing - I only did one of each, so there were 3 layers in total. I put the dip right onto a charger - white on bottom, red in the middle, green on top. It eliminated the need for the baking dish/plastic wrap thing, which sounded like it could have been a disaster. I also didn't have time to let it sit for a while before serving, but it certainly didn't deter my guests. This was gone by the end of the night. It looked nice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
This was very good. Instead of layering in a baking dish, I choose to split the recipe and layer in bowls to give an "ornament" look. I then "decorated" the ornament with extra Pesto spread and added a Pesto "hook". It was very attractive and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
MOST EXCELLENT! This spread is so full of flavor that it's sinful! A little goes a long way, as well. I only made half the recipe to test it out, and I can't wait to make it for a party. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
Love it! Instead of crackers I use pita bread cut up into triangles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milbank, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
my new favorite cheese spread! so simple & delish! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalGayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sun-Dried Tomato Bruschetta

Grilled chicken is tossed with spinach, feta, and tomatoes and served on toasts.

Artichoke and Sun-dried Tomato Chicken

This simple Italian-inspired meal is ready in less than 45 minutes.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States