Sun-Dried Tomato and Bow Tie Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
It's a family favorite. I also use bottled sun dried tomatoes to skip the whole blanching step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Z

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I used to eat a very similar dish at a New Orleans restaurant more than 20 years ago. It brought back many good memories and is a perfect dish for my vegan Mondays. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I wish I read the reviews before making this. I just saw a bunch of 4-5 star reviews so I ran with it. But they are 4-5 star reviews based on altering the recipe almost entirely. So the recipe *AS IS*, is dry & a bit too spicy, even though I like hot foods. 4 Tbsp dry basil & 1 tbsp olive oil does not a pesto make. More or less a basil crumble. Then an entire tsp of cayenne pepper? It's a good flavor, just too much. At the end when the "sauce" was supposed to "simmer" I was a bit confused . The dry paste I had was not going to simmer. Next time I make this I will make a pesto with fresh basil (& half the amount of it), more olive oil & half the amount of cayenne. It's a good start & a good start & a good flavor, just dry & too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I had to make a lot of changes per the comments...but it was a good place to start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I agree that the cayenne pepper was a bit much. I don't think heat goes well with pesto in my opinion. I'd recommend either omitting it, or very gradually at it as it's simmering towards the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
This is a great receipe. I altered it slightly. I added more garlic, mushroom , extra lemon juice and shrimp. Instead of feta cheese I used Parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Made this for a special Valentine's dinner with my husband. Used suggestions of other reviews including adding toasted pine nuts and parmesan. I also added extra mushrooms and cooked them in oil from the sun dried tomatoes packed in oil. I used Classico jarred pesto also. It turned out very flavorful. Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
A really great, easy pasta dish. I didn't have bow tie pasta so I just used rotini, and pine nuts are a bit expensive for my budget so I had to leave them out. Nonetheless, it think the pasta turned out really well and was a tasty weekend lunch. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I've enjoyed this recipe multiple times and agree with the addition of some parmesan. I took it on a canoe/camping trip and used dried mushrooms (had to rehydrate them). The meal was light to pack and carry and a big hit with the hungry campers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
The cayenne pepper was a bit much and I enjoy spicy foods. I would tell anyone else making this to gradually add it in to suit your tastes. Other than that, the flavoring seemed a little bland, which was ironic given that the recipe calls for pesto and sun-dried tomatoes, two really great tasting ingredients. Not sure about this one...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Artichoke and Sun-dried Tomato Chicken

This simple Italian-inspired meal is ready in less than 45 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States