Sun-Dried Tomato With Fresh Basil Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I thought this was a great dip! I did take the suggestion from another reviewer and added garlic (1 clove), salt, pepper, and cayenne pepper. I served it with Melba toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeAnne E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baxley, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I didnt have any left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Great treat (non-sugary for a change!) for Hubs to take to the office that came together in a snap. I used the package of cream cheese as called for, but only added the other ingredients to taste, using somewhat less than called for and a small clove of minced garlic. I pulsed it in the food processor just long enough so that it was still "whitish" but with flecks of the tomatoes and basil. Beautiful. Delicious too. I served it with homemade crostini (cut small baguettes into 1/4" slices, brush each side lightly with olive oil. Season lightly with salt and pepper or garlic salt, if desired, and a dusting of freshly grated Parmesan. Bake at 375* until golden brown.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This tasted great the second time I made it, I had glanced at the recipe and bought sun dried tomatoes but not in oil. My husband blended the ingredients and it was super salty. Then we looked at what we did wrong. Make sure to wash the tomatoes that aren't in oil if you happen to get the ones in a bag and not in oil. OK, we made it again and it was a HIT. Use the tomatoes in oil. It was so freakin' good. So easy and people thought it was some high falootin' recipe. So thank you for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire Wood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Hall, Maryland, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I served this at a ladies' luncheon, and we really enjoyed this dip. I only gave it 3 stars because it is not visually appealing. A tasty dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flamygurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This dip is amazing! I also used sun-dried tomatoes that were not in oil, so I added a little drizzle of olive oil. I also added about 1 tsp of minced garlic and about 1/4 tsp of onion powder. Served with crunchy sesame sticks and cracked black pepper crackers - everyone loved it! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I didn't have sun dried tomatoes in oil, but had some without and I used fresh basil from my garden--I also added 1/4 tsp of garlic salt and 1/4 tsp of onion powder. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Such a quick, easy & delicious recipe. Very tasty and everyone loved it! Mine came out a pretty light red (not sure why main picture shown is white).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I thought it was just ok. Not as good as I was hoping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This is such a nice, easy recipe. I found it worked great when I needed a very last minute appetizer with very little time to make it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States