Sun-Dried Tomato Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
I hate to say this recipe was terrible because I think used as a pasta sauce it would be okay, however, it would need to be thinned down some for a sauce and more spices added. The tomato paste was way too overbearing in this spread. I definitely will not make this again unless my playing with it will turn it into a great pasta sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
This recipe is wonderful. So flavorful, it makes a great substitute for other kinds of sandwich spreads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2003
Absolutely phenomenal. I used it as a dipping sauce for foccacia and it was perfect. It was simple and quick to make and drew rave reviews. I'm sure I'll be making this one all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
This was so easy & so good spread with cream cheese on toasted bread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalGayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
Delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I made this receipe but used more olive oil to make it less like a paste. I froze the spread to have on hand for later use. It is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
This would be good if it was called tomato and basil dip or use as a pizza sauce, or if you thinned it out, it would be a wonderful pasta sauce. But as a Sun dried tomato spread, you cannot even taste the sun dried tomato part. Dip is good yes, but I was looking for a sun dried tomato dip. I added mozzarella cheese, and heated in the microwave and turned it into a pizza dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
Not bad. I added way more basil & sugar than the recipe called for (personal tastes), the oil from the sun dried tomatoes, plus a little extra olive oil because as is, it was a little thick. Something different, although I don't know if I'll make it again. Thanks. Jan 13th...I still stand by my changes, but I just had about a 1/2 cup left-over spread with some left-over shredded rotisserie chicken, white rice & parmesan cheese...yum! Hmmmm....I may find a different use for this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
I LOVE this recipe!!! If you like tomatoes you will be pleased with this one. It has a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
This is really good. Used on chicken Panini's. Cheaper than buying in the store. Oh, and I have frozen this and the texture is okay if using again in recipe, not for a spread though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Artichoke and Sun-dried Tomato Chicken

This simple Italian-inspired meal is ready in less than 45 minutes.

Chicken and Sun-Dried Tomato Bruschetta

Grilled chicken is tossed with spinach, feta, and tomatoes and served on toasts.

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States