Sun-Dried Tomato Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Used this recipe for a pita pizza. 5 out 5! I went ahead and mixed all the ingredients into the blender. Update: Being pregnant, I omitted the red wine and it was still fabulous. Also didn't have pine nuts or parmesan on hand but still love the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MATTSBELLY
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Amazing pesto recipe. We absolutely loved it. I only made 10 servings because all I needed was a couple of TBS for the "Pizza Without the Red Sauce" recipe from this site. I wish I had made more to have o n pasta! The only change I made was to use Sun-Dried tomato paste instead of regular paste. I had it in a tube and didn't want to open a can of regular paste for a TBS or so. Still, it came out just great. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I enjoy this pesto. I used it to make another recipe on this site and I had a hard time getting my blender to work with me but the flavor was good in the recipe that I used. I had *lots* left over and look forward to throwing it on a warmed up Boboli for lunch or as spread for a snack. Very easy, especially if the ingredients are standards in your kitchen, which for us it was. I'm a fan of garlic, red wine and basil - therefore would probably add in more of those 3 ingredients the next time I make this. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I'm not a huge fan of pesto, however, I really enjoyed this sauce. It was a great spin off of traditional pesto. I love sun-dried tomatoes. Not only was this flavorful, but it's also rather low in calories/fat. I used red wine, not red wine vinegar, and I forgot to put in the balsamic vinegar, but it still turned out really good. I'm excited to try it with the balsamic vinegar next time, and maybe I will try it with red wine vinegar instead of actual red wine. This recipe is versatile, and could be good either way! I also didn't have a food processor, so I used a blender. It takes a bit of patience and time compared to a food processor. I had to stop and stir it now and then to make sure it all got blended/chopped, but my blender doesn't work well, and it was definitley worth the effort! I put this over farafalle and served it with fresh french bread and the Easy Garden Green beans recipe on this site. Like other reviews have said, this recipe makes a lot. There are only two of us in the house, and we are gladly freezing the rest of the sauce to use for quick pasta dinners in the future. Thank you for sharing this simple and yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roshanthi
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Great recipe, also fabulous on sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roshanthi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
I was not too sure how this one would go over because I tasted it in the food processor and it seemed a little heavy on the balsamic flavor. However, once I tossed it with the pasta (you don't need nearly as much as if you were using say meat sauce),...heavenly. Maybe even the best pasta dish I have eaten in or out of a restaurant! The only subs I made were that I used asiago instead of parmesan because mine had gone bad and I added some of that seasoning stuff that you are supposed to mix with olive oil and dip bread in because I add that to everything. My meat loving husband was also a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
The color ends up looking like something you wouldn't want to eat and the flavor was lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARCIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powell, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This was very delicious even without the addition of wine. I thought it was a bit rich, but then you only have to use a little sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edson, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Delicious! Freezes well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldenlocks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
Used sun dried tomatoes in oil.........drianed them, soaked them in hot water and then re-used the oil:).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Artichoke and Sun-dried Tomato Chicken

This simple Italian-inspired meal is ready in less than 45 minutes.

Chicken and Sun-Dried Tomato Bruschetta

Grilled chicken is tossed with spinach, feta, and tomatoes and served on toasts.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States