Sun-Dried Tomato Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
made with almonds instead of pine nuts, used dried basil, SO SO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Not so good after a night in the refrigerator, but fresh, it's one of the best recipes I'm made on this site. Delicious! I forgot to pick up crushed tomatoes, so I substituted with half a fresh tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This was fabulous. I used sun dried tomatoes in oil, and then mixed that oil with the EVOO, for a total of a 1/3 of oil combo (otherwise I think the oil would overpower the taste). I also reduced the balsalmic (rec'd from others) to 1 Tbsp. I used this with Ham and Fresh Basil Pinwheels (from this sight). I did freeze the remainder to toss with pasta or to put on french bread. Thanks for the recipe Mrs. Schmidt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOBUCKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I really didn't like this at all. Maybe I just don't care for sun-dried tomatoes, but I didn't like the texture or the flavor of this. All I could taste was the tomatoes and the vinegar, but I had been really looking forward to the fresh flavors of the parsley, the basil, and especially the pine nuts. It didn't taste good to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bobo's Mama
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I made this with roasted red peppers instead of the sundried tomatoes, because I bought the wrong thing at the grocery store. It turned out great that way and I would love to try this recipe with other vegetables. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobo's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Utica, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Great starting point. I wanted to recreate the sun dried tomato pesto a local restaurant makes. Turned out great! Didn't follow it exactly - didn't really measure and omitted the pine nuts, red wine, and tomato paste. I think a couple of splashes of balsamic vinegar and some fresh tomato really made this. Boyfriend loved it and even thought it was better than the restaurant's (less oily he said)! Just served it with a loaf of Italian bread as a little appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I made this vegetarian by omitting the Parmesan cheese, and it was delish. I will skip the balsamic vinegar next time, though, as I found it made this a bit too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPFSTAPF
Living In: Culver City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I made some modifications so I could just use the ingredients I had: no sun-dried tomatoes, but I added in an extra tbs of tomato paste and added a little bit of sugar to counter the tomato paste. Didn't have red wine to add, either. I added in a little extra garlic, too. This was extremely yummy-- thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
I needed a sun-dried tomato pesto for a stuffed pork tenderloin recipe. I googled this and tried it and found it amazing. The next night I made more as a sauce for gnocchi - stunning! A definite keeper for no fail, favourite recipes. So versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I didnt give it 5 stars because I made modifications to the recipe. I added a lot less balsamic and more basil (2 Tablespoons more), more pine nuts (total 1/3 cup), more olive oil and red wine(1/8 cup more each). I also added cracked pepper and 2 lbs of salad shrimp. I think this recipe is a good starting platform. My family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Artichoke and Sun-dried Tomato Chicken

This simple Italian-inspired meal is ready in less than 45 minutes.

Chicken and Sun-Dried Tomato Bruschetta

Grilled chicken is tossed with spinach, feta, and tomatoes and served on toasts.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States