Sun-Dried Tomato Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Excellent start of a recipe! I was intrigued by the idea of adding sundried tomatoes...the only change I made was to roast the garlic first as I find raw garlic to be very bitter in hummus. Roasting gives it a nice, sweet taste. I also used tomatoes I dried myself and elminated the use of the oil altogether as I find it isn't necessary and adds calories. I drizzle up to a 1/4 of water into the hummus while pureeing to obtain the desired consistency. With these tweaks - I have a heart healthy snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This is a good spin on plain hummus, but I thought the 1/2 cup of sun-dried tomatoes was extremely over-powering. Next time I would use about half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lisle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Perfect as written - yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Love, love this! I cannot eat chick peas so I combined white, kidney and black beans made fresh from the organic bulk section in my health food store. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wildcat44
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I had a problem getting it to be really smooth (Might just be a problem with my food processor?) But the flavor is really good and it's a healthy and cheap snack to have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wildcat44

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
What a wonderful flavor this has! I had a little trouble getting my food processor to process the tomatoes and basil into small pieces, so next time I will try adding them to the processor and then adding the beans last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
We really like hummus and this is one of our favorites. I used 1/4 c of the oil from the tomatoes and 1/4 olive oil and really brought out the tomato taste. We have friends who own a restaurant and they ahve been using the recipe for their appitizer. They give credit to the poster though, thanks for this great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kensett, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nora Springs, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Next time I will roast the garlic first. I also used lime juice instead of lemon (only because I was out of lemons).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This is definitely the best hummus I've made so far. Instead of sun dried tomatoes though I used diced chili style tomatoes and added about a 1/3 cup of onion and used kept half of the garbanzo bean juice from one of the cans. It was superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Very disappointing on a number of levels- the flavor was off. Not actually unpleasant, but off somehow. My family did not like the texture- the nubbins of tomato made the humus seem gritty which was off-putting too. Lastly, the color was strange- an unappetizing brownish-salmon with flecks of red and green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sun-Dried Tomato Bruschetta

Grilled chicken is tossed with spinach, feta, and tomatoes and served on toasts.

Artichoke and Sun-dried Tomato Chicken

This simple Italian-inspired meal is ready in less than 45 minutes.

Creamy Parmesan & Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken Penne

See time-saving tips for a quick-and-easy chicken penne pasta dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States