Sun Dried Tomato Focaccia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Delicious! Took about 3 hours from start to finish (dough cycle on my machine takes 1 1/2 hours). I used less than a whole small (7 oz) jar of Safeway Select julienne cut sun dried tomatoes with Italian herbs in oil, chopped them up a bit more but this wasn't necessary, the kneading of the bread machine pulverized them so only teeny bits were visible in the finished bread. Next time I'll try 1/4 cup at the beginning, they added a wonderful flavor & color to the dough, & add the other 1/4 cup chopped a bit when it beeps to add fruit/nuts. Drained tomatoes a bit but didn't rinse, so due to the extra oil left on the tomatoes I cut the butter (instead of margarine) down to about 2 3/4 Tbsp. Used "Better for Bread" flour & bread machine yeast, made a big oval on a 10x15 cookie sheet, it rose beautifully when baked, taste & texture were perfect! Instead of olive oil used oil from the tomatoes, about 1 Tbsp was enough for the knead step & brushing on top, used the other Tbsp for dipping....yum! I cut the garlic salt in half but it was still a bit too salty on top so next time I'll use garlic powder, the cheese has enough salt for the top. I try to rate recipes considering the actual recipe without any modifications, & had I used the full amount of garlic salt it would have been terrible, so I took 1 star off for that. Some reviewers said the dough was too floury or too sweet, but I thought the dough was awesome & look forward to making this again with other cheeses & toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
This is delicious bread with great color from the sun-dried tomatoes. I thought it was a little too sweet and I've never seen a bread recipe call for so much sugar in it. Next time I will reduce the sugar for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I tried the focaccia for the first time .. It turned out great. This is a keeper... I did add some sliced pitted black olives . Wonderful. My daughter could not keep her hands off the bread. Will try making it with part whole wheat flour.. I did keep it for a 2 hours for it to raise the first time and again an hour + since I had to go out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Overall this was just an okay bread, but nothing like the focaccias I've purchased at bakeries. Compared to those this was very dry on the inside. Three cups of flour is probably to blame, since the rosemary and tomatoes did not fully drown out the floury taste. I've since tried another recipe that used two cups of flour which worked much better. For what it's worth, I do not have a bread machine so I mixed this by hand and cooked it on a pizza stone. Still, I doubt that would affect the dryness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Desiree
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Love love love!!! This would be great to serve with pasta...very easy to make :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
My hubby lived in Italy for a few years so we are constantly looking for authentic tasting recipes. This is SO good. I use my KitchenAid rather than a bread maker and we eat it far more often then I'm sure we should!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This was good. I mixed the cheeses in the dough. I will be making this again.Next time I will put sauteed green pepper and onions on top before baking.thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This is a fabulous recipe! It makes a very large loaf of bread that I was able to share with neighbors. They loved it too! This one is a keeper and I'll make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vandalia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Morrow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Absolutely DELICIOUS! I used canned sun dried tomatoes and they turned the bread a beautiful color in the bread machine. I make bread all the time, but this very well may be the tastiest bread I've even eaten in my life. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mccormick09

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This was very very good. I'd almost like to use it as a pizza crust, just spread it out thinner. The only thing I didn't care for this was the amount of dried tomatoes. The entire jar didn't even make the called for amount and it was still too much for everyone that tried it. For the topping part I increased the amount of parmesan cheese, using the shreds and not the powder type. I used fresh minced garlic instead of garlic salt and fresh rosemary instead of dried. It makes a very beautiful looking piece of bread after its baked. I still give it 5 stars because the amount of dried tomatoes is probably just a taste preference and not a recipe flaw. For those first making it, you may want to try less to start with. My jar didn't come to half cup, but I would decrease it to 1/4 cup next time. Oh almost forgot. For the olive oil, I used the olive oil that the tomatoes came packed in. I even reserved the rest of the oil to make an infused oil. I added regular olive oil to what was left to fill it up, added fresh minced garlic and fresh rosemary to use up the left overs. Was great drizzled over the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wick of Twizt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States