Sun-Dried Tomato Cheesecake Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
SOOOOOOOO.....GOOD! I found this recipe in 2003 before I was a member, and I loved it. Fate was cruel and I lost the printed recipe in a drawer and then the recipe was out of sight and mind. I found it when cleaning in 2010 and the 'palate-memory' was so strong I LITERALLY started to salivate! Yum-E boys and girls. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dcshoffman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This is a new favourite! My family absolutely loved it. The texture was creamy and light and it was very easy to cut and serve. I cut it into squares just a bit smaller than an inch wide, and served each one with a little dollop of sour cream on top and a sprinkle of finely chopped parsley. The sour cream sets it off really nicely. It was definitely not too bland. I wonder if those who thought it was, might have had plain sun dried tomatoes? It happened that the ones I got were seasoned and had capers, herbs and spices in with them. Either way, it's a good idea to taste as you go and adjust seasonings. I pretty much knew how it was going to taste before I put it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I had high hopes for this recipe. I needed something that could be served at room temperature to take to my monthly card club, and I thought this sounded interesting. It came out of the oven an ugly beigey-pink color and it was all cracked on top. I had trouble cutting it into squares without it falling apart and the crust was so thin, it might as well not have been there. I didn't care for the taste or the texture, but I had my husband taste it. "You're not going to take this to Canasta, are you?", he said. I took a pea, cheese and pasta salad instead. It made a good story at the club meeting, though. Sorry, this was definitely not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Insanely delicious! I was leary to try this because some of the comments that the dish was too bland. I followed it exactly. It was absolutely fantastic. Restaurant quality! I can't wait to serve it at my party tomorrow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
I made this for my book club meeting with a few modifications and everyone loved it. First, I used a mixture of bread crumbs and Parmesan cheese with butter and olive oil as a binder for the crust, which I did not pre-bake. Second, I made it in a traditional spring form pan. Third, I replaced the oregano with basil as I love basil with tomato and I have a huge basil plant in my back yard. Next time I will double my basil because it was not a strong flavor in the cheesecake. Also, my husband suggested whipping the mixture next time to put some air in it, rather than just blending in the food processor. I served it with multi-grain baguette bread, sliced on a bias and toasted with olive oil. I do not believe this recipe needs sugar. Savory cheesecake is an appetizer and should not be sweet. Cheesecake's origin is actually savory, not sweet. Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monticello, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
i've heard tomatoes are more of a fruit, but the only thing missing from this recipe, is sugar. it's not a chessecake unless it's sweet.so if i were you i at least put 1/2 tbsp. sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Every time I make this everyone wants the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
The flavor was awesome, but very, very rich. I made a test batch before I decided to make it for an event. It was a small pan (8x8), and even at that, it stayed in my fridge for a week. No one could eat more than a bite or two at a time. I decided to go with something else for the event. That being said, these really do taste good, and I think it's a very original idea to make a savory cheesecake type thing. My sister thought it tasted like Rondole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Tasty, but I like better warm than room temp, which was disappointing. I need more room temp appetizers. Also added diced red peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
This would be a better spread/dip recipe. I baked it for a party and the "cheesecake" part completely separated from the crust. Everyone agreed that it would have been great on a bagel, but was a little sad as a cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sun-Dried Tomato Bruschetta

Grilled chicken is tossed with spinach, feta, and tomatoes and served on toasts.

Artichoke and Sun-dried Tomato Chicken

This simple Italian-inspired meal is ready in less than 45 minutes.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States